Sweeeeet shrimp

Last night I made one of my new favorite dishes. Sweeeeet Shrimp! This recipe was named by my boyfriend Ryan. Guess you could read it two ways. The dish is sweet (the opposite of salty) and sweet (as in “So cool!”) Either way you read it…. its delicious! It’s the perfect combo of sweet (from the mangos and sweet potatoes) and spicy (from the curry paste).

20110831-112445.jpg

 The inspiration came from an old magazine article (SHAPE 2007!) Does anyone remember when they had that section in the “Eat right news” section called “in-season” pick? They would take a fruit or veggie that was in season that month and give you some quick nutrition facts and then an easy recipe for using the ingredient in three different ways. It used to be one of my favorite parts of the magazine! I should write to them and see if they will bring it back!

Ryan is always trying to help me be more neat and organized. One of my recent attempts at organization had me attacking my magazine stack. And trust me this baby was huge! Since 2007 I have moved from Delaware to Virginia to Texas. Why I still have all my magazines… I don’t know! You never know when you might want to do that workout with the sticky note on it or cook that recipe you flagged. So for the past few weeks I have been slowly going through the stack and tearing out recipes, workouts, etc. that interest me. I put all of the recipes in a binder by category… my own magazine cookbook!

So that brings me to Sweeeeet shrimp! This recipe has a few items you may not have in your pantry. First up… curry paste! My favorite is Thai Kitchen’s Red Curry Paste. Its only mildly spicy so don’t worry that it will be too overpowering. And according to the website, its vegan, gluten, and dairy free! I use this curry paste all the time in sauces for stir fries and noodles.

Source

The second ingredient is fish sauce. Its made of fermented fish but don’t be scared. It’s not as gross as it sounds. It’s a key ingredient in most Thai and Vietnamese dishes… kind of like their version of soy sauce. If you have ever eaten in an Eastern Asian restaurant you have probably had it and not even known! It is pretty intense when you take a whiff out of the bottle but it is essential to the overall flavor of the dish.

20110831-112231.jpg

Most well stocked grocery stores have both curry paste and fish sauce these days but for the best prices hit up an Asian grocery store. And now I present…

Sweet Shrimp

Thai Style Shrimp and Sweet Potatoes (adapted from Shape)

Time: 30 minutes (only ~10 minutes of prep!)

Serves 8 (you could easily cut in half… But I am the queen of leftovers!)

Ingredients
- 1 bunch green onions, sliced

- 2 extra-large sweet potatoes cubed
- 1 can light coconut milk (could sub full fat)
- 3 heaping tablespoons Thai curry paste
- 2 tablespoons fish sauce

- 2 lbs shrimp, peeled and deveined

-3 tablespoons lime juice
- 1 cup mango, cubed ( optional)
- 1/2 cup cilantro, chopped (optional)

1. Chop up your scallions into thin rings and your sweet potatoes into cubes. I do both these steps together while I am at my cutting board.

20110831-112058.jpg

2. Heat a small amount of oil in a large stockpot and add your scallions. Saute for 4-5 minutes.

20110831-112301.jpg

3. Add the coconut milk, curry paste and fish sauce. Stir to combine.

20110831-112143.jpg

4. Add the cubed sweet potatoes. Cover the pot part way and simmer for about 15 minutes or until the sweet potatoes are cooked through.

5. Add the shrimp and cook until they turn pink (~ 2 or 3 minutes).

20110831-112332.jpg

6. Stir in lime juice.

7. Garnish with cilantro and mango if desired.

8. Stuff your face… Enjoy!

20110831-112424.jpg

20110831-112457.jpg

 I served this with Israeli couscous but any grain with as rice, quinoa, etc. would be delicious!

Question: Do you keep magazines for years or do you recycle them after you read them?

4 responses to “Sweeeeet shrimp”

  1. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance says :

    Every time I come across a recipe with “Fish sauce” I can’t help but to back away. There’s something that is just so intimidating about the sound of it!

    After seeing this recipe though, you might have just given me that little extra boost of strength ;)

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Fajita Fiesta! « Biking Before Bed - September 2, 2011

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

