Shrimp and Bacon Marinara

Going back to work is never easy after a gorgeous weather-relaxing-fun and food filled three day weekend. It took a little while to get back into the swing of things… especially knowing that it was gorgeous outside! At least I was able to pull off a 5 mile run outdoors before work! All I could think about all morning was this pasta that I had packed as leftover for lunch! Yes, these thoughts started at 9 am… 1 hour after breakfast.

Over the weekend I ate not once, but twice at Nundini’s Italian Deli… in the same day. It was that good! Nundini’s also has a little grocery store and deli with tons of imported Italian products. After two amazing meals I knew I needed to buy something for the kitchen. All of the meats and cheeses looked amazing (fresh prosciutto and mozzarella… drool)! But I wasn’t going to have access to a fridge for a few hours so I had to pick something packaged. Enter this can.

20110905-050834.jpg

I wanted to find a recipe that would highlight these (hopefully) delicious tomatoes. I decided on pasta because I’m creative like that. But it wasn’t your run of the mill pasta with meat sauce.

20110905-050900.jpg

 This was pasta marinara with bacon and shrimp! The tomatoes were super sweet… just how they should be. And you could definitely taste the basil! And bacon makes everything better.

Shrimp and Bacon Marinara

(adapted from Everyday Italian by Giada De Laurentiis)

Serves 4

Time: 90 minutes

 1. Chop celery, carrots, onion, garlic, zucchini, and pepper.

20110905-050802.jpg

2. Heat 1 tb of olive oil in a large pot. Cut up 4 strips of bacon with scissors and add to the oil. Cook for ~8 minutes or until bacon is crispy.

3. Remove the bacon with a slotted spoon and let drain on paper towels. (thankfully I cooked an extra slice of bacon for snacking!)

4. Drain bacon grease into a can (Don’t pour it down the drain)! Leave enough to coat the bottom of the pot.

5. Add the onion and garlic and saute until translucent, ~ 8 minutes.

6. Add carrots, celery, salt, and pepper and saute until veggies are soft, ~8 minutes.

20110905-050811.jpg

7. Add canned tomatoes and squish them with the back of a wooden spoon.

20110905-050821.jpg

8. Add the bacon and a bay leave and simmer on low for ~40 minutes.

9. Add the zucchini and pepper and continue cooking for 10 minutes.

20110905-050841.jpg

10. Raise heat and add shrimp, cooking until shrimp turn pink, ~5-10 minutes.

11. Serve over pasta, rice, quinoa, or just eat it straight out of the pot!

20110905-050848.jpg

This sauce takes awhile to cook, but the end result is so worth it! You could easily make a double batch without shrimp and freeze it! Now excuse me while I go eat some more sauce out of the fridge :)

Question: Have you ever eaten at the same restaurant multiple times in the same day?

I think this was a first for me… but I have definitely been to the same place several times in the same week! (Jason’s deli… free soft serve with every meal… how could I say no?)

4 responses to “Shrimp and Bacon Marinara”

  1. Tessa @ Amazing Asset says :

    I think about what I am eating for lunch/dinner/snacks when I am having breakfast… no worries on that one :)
    And this recipe sounds great! I love anything with shrimp

  2. lapiattini says :

    Sounds really simple and easy- thanks for the idea- yum!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

