What I Ate Wednesday… Round 1!

So Wednesday’s are probably my least favorite day of the week…what better way to spice it up than with a party?! I decided to join Jenn for the What I ate Wednesday party!

So here is what you came for… the eats!

Breakfast:

Yesterday I in the fall mind-set… but it was still hot like summer. So I went with a hybrid breakfast of sorts. The pumpkin chocolate smoothie!

20110907-064600.jpg

In the mix:

- 1 frozen banana

-1  1/2 cups almond milk

- 1/2 cup of pumpkin

- 1 heaping scoop chocolate protein

-handful spinach (gotta get my greens!)

-pinch xanthum gum

The taste… in the words of Willy Wonka… scrumdiddlyumptious! Yes this is a word… at least according to Urban Dictionary:) The pumpkin flavor wasn’t too strong but added a nice thickness to the smoothie. I immediately Googled chocolate pumpkin recipes… might be my new favorite flavor combo! So hold onto your seats… more pumpkin and chocolate is definitely in my future.

Lunch:

It was a clean out the fridge kind of meal… but in my opinion those are often the best ones!

20110905-050700.jpg

The bowl included leftover grilled shrimp, pineapple, potatoes, onions, and peppers. The highlight was definitely the shrimp and pineapple. The shrimp was marinated in lime juice, olive oil, garlic, and tequila… basically a margarita! Can’t go wrong with that! Grilled pineapple is one of my favorite summer food. The sweetness intensifies and almost tastes like candy. If you’ve never tried it… hurry out to your barbecue before it’s too cold!

Dinner:

Continuing on the seafood theme…

20110907-064824.jpg

Blackened pan seared tuna and an asian veggie medley with edamame, corn and bell peppers. The whole flavor of the meal was elevated by adding sesame oil to the salad and to the pan used to sear the tuna! Just a few drops and you will get that Asian flavor that just pops.

Drinks:

My latest favorite Keurig flavor is definitely Kahlua.

20110907-064622.jpg

Enjoyed in my favorite pirate mug! I also had water with all my meals… but who takes pictures of water?

Snacks:

Since this is my first WIAW, I figure I owe y’all a warning… I am a snackaholic!

20110905-050707.jpg

A blueberry muffin. Recipe courtesy of Courtney. Definitely my new favorite! I just had one… but don’t muffins look better in pairs?

20110907-064613.jpg

A Dannon Oikos vanilla yogurt. I can’t wait to try the key lime flavor.

20110907-064513.jpg

My favorite afternoon snack… the good ole sliced apple with peanut butter.

And there you have it folks… my first WIAW. It’s not to late to join the party! See y’all next week

Question: What is your favorite flavor of yogurt?

Mine is pineapple Chiobani. Hands down.

4 responses to “What I Ate Wednesday… Round 1!”

  1. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance says :

    There is such a thing as Kahlua flavored Keurig?! I need to invest in one of those machines!

    My favorite flavor of yogurt is probably something plain– like vanilla. What can I say, I’m a simple girl ;)

  2. Shannon says :

    Welcome to the WIAW Wednesday party! I just posted my first WIAW post yesterday too :)
    Mhmm, your smoothie sounds good!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

