Running by the Sea

Happy Thursday! Or Happy Thirsty Thursday to some of the college folks? The only thing I was thirsty for today was water. Do you ever have one of those days wear you seem to be drinking non stop and grabbing chap stick every 5 minutes… yea that was my Thursday.

I decided to skip fall and head straight to winter for breakfast with some gingerbread overnight oats courtesy of Angela at Oh She Glows.

20110908-084946.jpg

Man, I forgot how amazing molasses is! I predict many more molasses in my future.

Dinner was random yet delicious. Leftover barbecued brisket snagged from a free work lunch, spinach, leftover roasted potatoes, and a Sandwich Thin with some huckleberry jelly.

20110908-084935.jpg

My huckleberry┬ájelly is almost gone… that must mean I need to go back to Shenandoah National Park to pick up some more! Now onto the feature presentation…

One of the reasons I was attracted to my current home of Seabrook, TX was the network of walking and biking trails in the area. I love being able to exercise outdoors whenever possible. I am relatively new to running and don’t have a Garmin. I have been running the same route for a couple of months now so I decided to head out this weekend on my bike with my newly downloaded “Map my Ride” app and see how long my route really is! I had guessed 5 miles… and it was 5.13! I was quite proud of my estimating skills!

I present to you… my trail run!

0.4 miles

20110905-050504.jpg

I have yet to see either of these creatures… but I keep my eyes peeled!

1 mile

20110905-050511.jpg

This is the entrance to someone’s house! Always makes me think of the Hunchback of Notre Dame.

1.5 miles

20110905-050517.jpg

In case you want to check out the garden club on your smart phone while running…

1.6 miles

20110905-050523.jpg

The tree that can’t stand up on his own. This is my favorite part of the run.

2 miles

20110905-050607.jpg

Even with the rain this weekend it’s still so dry! This was the location of the elliptical bike siting!

2.2 miles

20110905-050532.jpg

Person and puppy water stop! I have yet to see a dog drink out of this bowl but I think its such a cute idea.

3.6 miles

20110905-050538.jpg

My dream house right on the water.

4.8 miles

20110905-050626.jpg

The “sprint” swing. Ok, ok, I confess… I don’t actually sprint when I hit this swing… but I do pick up the pace for the last 0.3 miles.

Goal: 6 miles

20110905-050543.jpg

By adding an extra mile to my morning run, I will get to see this beautiful pier at sunrise. This will definitely be worth the extra mile!

It felt so different doing the route on a bike. But now with my new phone app I’m excited to plan new running routes. Apparently there are over 26 miles of connecting trails!

Question: Do you have a running route that you always follow, or do you try to mix it up? Do you prefer to run on pavement or dirt trails?

I am a creature of habit so I always find myself doing the same route, in the same direction. I definitely prefer to run on dirt.

 

 

 

5 responses to “Running by the Sea”

  1. Kelsey says :

    mmm gingerbread overnight oats- such a great flavour… well gingerbread anything is AMAZING <3

    that is such a beautiful place to run…going past all the gorgeous scenery and little nooks and crannies :)

    xoxo

  2. Tessa @ Amazing Asset says :

    Yum those are a great flavor of oats!
    Nice run, thank you for sharing your pictures :) I like to change things up, but I stick to the same general area

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

