Very Berry Stuffed French Toast

Hooray for four-day work weeks! This one just flew by. I think the gorgeous fall weather has helped. I thought I would share this recipe in time for the weekend. Weekday breakfasts are pretty much cereal, oatmeal, or smoothies but weekends are the times when I crave “fancy” breakfast foods.

I definitely am a sweet breakfast fan. Sometimes the mood strikes and I want eggs or omelettes but most of the time I crave one of “the sweet breakfast trinity” pancakes, waffles, or french toast. Pancakes are normally the winner because a. I often don’t have good French toast bread lying around and b. The waffle iron can become a frightening mess.

But last weekend with all the ingredients for French toast on hand… I went to town. This recipe was inspired by this little package.

20110905-050319.jpg

I hate to see food go to waste. I should probably be on an episode of Hoarders: the food edition. Whenever there is extra food at work I always take it home with me! After a Panera bagel breakfast I snagged several of these little cream cheese packages in all different flavors. The raspberry one immediately made me crave stuffed French toast.

20110905-050419.jpg

Very Berry Stuffed French toast

Serves 2

Time: 10 minutes

20110905-050307.jpg

Ingredients

-2 oz low fat raspberry cream cheese ( plain would work too!)
- 2 tb raspberry jam
-1 egg and 1 egg white
- 2 Tb milk ( I used 1%)
- 1/4 tsp almond extract

-1/2 tsp cinnamon
- 4 slices bread ( I used maple whole wheat made in my bread machine…recipe to come!)
- 1/4 cup blueberries

1. Soften cream cheese in the microwave and combine with the jelly.

20110905-050332.jpg
2. Whisk together eggs, milk, and almond extract.

20110905-050342.jpg
3. Spread cream cheese mixture on two slices of bread and top with blueberries.

20110905-050352.jpg
4. Top with other slices of bread to make two “sandwiches.”
5. Carefully dip sandwiches in egg mixture.
6. Cook French toast in hot greased pan for ~ 2 minutes on each side or until egg is cooked.

20110905-050401.jpg
7. Top with blueberries, syrup, or any other toppings you like!

The filling was super sweet and creamy. I found I didn’t even need much syrup!

20110905-050409.jpg

Question: Are you a sweet or savory breakfast eater? What is your favorite of the breakfast trinity?
I love good Belgian waffles. I think my favorite were the ones you could make yourself in the college dining hall. They would have little cups of batter and the waffle iron set up for Sunday brunch. There was always a line… But it was so worth it!

10 responses to “Very Berry Stuffed French Toast”

  1. Chels says :

    I am more of a sweet person, anything with oats…peanut butter and some type of fruit will due for me. I have never been one to sit down with eggs and bacon.

  2. lapiattini says :

    Oh wow. Like seriously, wow. I’m also a big breakfast person, esp sweet breakfasts- oh and especially french toast. I’ll be making this asap!

  3. lindsay says :

    oh you are better than hoarders. How about iron chef?? Thats better. Nice recipe!

  4. Tessa @ Amazing Asset says :

    Yum great recipe! I love french toast+ fruit so I know I would like this!

  5. Fit Chick Britt says :

    This looks so good and so easy!! I would have never thought of it. I love a good breakfast on the weekends and sweet breakfasts and french toast are my favorite!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

