Feliz Cumpliaños a mi madre

 

 

 

 

 

Who invented Mondays? I wish there were some way to just skip Mondays and just get onto Tuesday. But today is a special Monday. Its my mom’s birthday! I want to dedicate an entire post to this lovely lady but first I wanted to share my attempts at organization. Normally I am like the Tasmanian devil in the morning. Whirling and running all over the place. I’m lucky I arrive to work in one piece. I love mornings and am always up with plenty of time to spare. The problem is that I love mornings and the last thing I actually want to do is to go to work. I normally spend 1 to 2 hours every morning before work either running, blogging, or getting caught up on stuff around the house. Then I always underestimate the actual “get ready” time.

So this week I am trying to completely pack my lunch the night before. I know many of you already do this… but this is a big step in the Lindsay gets organized plan. So be patience while I jump on the bandwagon a bit late.

20110912-063446.jpg

The lunch: A frozen pasta and veggies medley combined with marinara, ground beef, and sauteed zucchini. Surprisingly tasty and filling!

20110912-063429.jpg

Mid morning fruit snack. Real fruit… not those little packets of gummies from third grade:) Although those were tasty!

20110912-063440.jpg

Strawberry Dannon Oikos. What a difference between the low-fat and the fat-free! This was so creamy and decadent. I was in yogurt heaven.

20110912-063435.jpg

Cereal mash up: Honey Bunches of Oats with Almonds and Peanut Butter Puffins.

And now a tribute to my mom, Molly Stephenson, in honor of her birthday.

My mom is the most incredible women I know. And not just because she is my mom, although that helps! She is the kind of person who still sends hand written Christmas cards to all her friends, even those she hasn’t seen since high school. She puts stickers on her students Spanish exams, thoughtfully thinking out the sticker selection for each one. She sends meaningful emails… the kind that read like a story, not one liners full of abbreviations. The list goes on and on.

My mom wears so many hats or so the expression goes.

The Reader

Hope, Alaska 2008

Some of my favorite memories growing up were reading with my mom. We would go to the library and pick out books together. I would snuggle in bed with her in the evening, always begging for her to read one more chapter. Long after I knew how to read myself, we continued reading books together. She instilled in me a life long love of reading for which I am internally grateful. I hope to read the Anne of Green Gables series with my daughter like she did with me.

The Traveler

El Camino de Santiago, Spain 2010

My mom is definitely bitten by the travel bug. She loves to go anywhere where she can practice her Spanish skills. She introduced me to the joy of travel and exploration from the time I was very young. I remember exploring Seville, Spain with her during my spring break in high school and accompanying her to Nicaragua on a service trip. When my mom travels, she goes to soak up everything the location has to offer.

The Adventurer

Valdez, Alaska 2008

Many people get less outgoing with age. My mom is not one of these people. She is fearless… except for roller coasters. She was never content to sit on the sidelines and watch me and my brother… she wanted to participate whether it be kayaking in Alaska or ziplining in Costa Rica. I have always admired her adventurous spirit.

The Biker

Bucks County, PA 2011

I credit my parents for my love of biking. Although I didn’t start road biking until after I moved to Texas, I loved taking weekend rides with my parents. Ours rides always revolved around food. Biking to get tacos, or ice cream, or brunch were some of my favorite family outings. Since my brother and left for college, my parents have taken their biking to new levels, participating in several multi day bike trips. I hope that I am still biking when I am my mom’s age!

The Goof

Bucks County, PA 2008

My mom taught me that you can’t take life to seriously. You don’t need to worry about what others think. I remember telling her daily “You’re so weird” growing up. But now other people tell me the same thing!

The Friend

Washington Crossing, PA 2007

The picture above perfectly represents my mom as a friend. She is standing with her friend Mario from Madrid. She stayed with Mario’s family for a year in grad school when she studied abroad in Spain. Now, over 30 years later, they are still friends. She doesn’t use Facebook or any other social media. She just knows the power of friendship and is willing to go the extra mile to call her friends and send them emails and letters. Her dedication is truly inspirational when I struggle to stay in touch with friends I made just a year ago.

The Mother

Newtown, PA 2008

I am so proud that you are my mom. Happy Birthday Mom! I wish I was there to spend it with you.

Question: What is the most special thing about your mom?

6 responses to “Feliz Cumpliaños a mi madre”

  1. lindsay says :

    happy birthday madre! she sounds like one amazing woman! Full of life.

  2. Tessa @ Amazing Asset says :

    Aww Happy Birthday to your mom! She sounds like one phenomenal lady :)

  3. Sweet and Savvy says :

    Happy Birthday to your Momma! I’m sure she is even more wonderful than you make her sound.. which is hard to believe! :)

    My mom is an amazing lady, and most importantly, my best friend!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

