Monday Memories: Big Bend Part II

 

 

Argh mateys! Happy Talk like a Pirate Day! I hope everyone had a fun-filled weekend. Catching up on posts? Check out:

Cilantro Lime Salad Dressing

Metropolitan Cooking Show

Tour de Pink

 Back to Talk like a Pirate Day. Yes, this is a legitimate holiday. I could not make up something this cool. I first found out about this holiday at a high school assembly. My friend and I may or may not have become obsessed. We may or may not have written an entire movie script in pirate dialog and posted it on YouTube…

My college roommates and I all dressed up for Halloween in 2005. We were so artistic and made our shirts! The shirts had catchy slogans on the back. I think mine said “Surrender your booty.”

On another exciting note… it rained last night. It was a full-blown thunderstorm. Although one storm won’t pull us out of the drought… it’s a step in the right direction. Before I get to today’s main post topic… I present some snippets of my Monday meals.

20110919-092024.jpg

Chocolate pumpkin smoothie. Heavy on the spinach apparently.

20110919-092031.jpg

Hodgepodge salad: spinach (I was like Popeye today!), shredded chicken, queso fresco, peppers, avocado, and some salsa.

And now the second part of my Monday Memories… for those of you who missed Big Bend Part 1, you can check it out here:

Monday Memories: Big Bend Part 1

After a good night’s sleep in Nemo (yes the tent has a name),

we were ready to tackle the tallest peak in Big Bend: Emory Peak. I strapped on my North Face fanny pack full of snacks, sunscreen, water, and my camera and I was ready to hit the trail.

Yes I know… I am wearing a fanny pack. Call the fashion police. But let me explain… my brother and I had been planning this trip for months and as luck would have it I fell off my bike and broke my collar-bone a month before we left. After consulting with my doctor and ensuring him that I wouldn’t be doing any upper body activities… he gave me the all clear. I didn’t want to carry my usual hiking backpack… so I hit up REI and wouldn’t you know… there are hiking fanny packs! I actually liked it better than a backpack since my back didn’t get all sweaty as I hiked. Although it looks like I am wearing a backpack in the picture, the straps are from my super cool brace… beats a sling!

A few miles in, it was time to rock scramble!

This was Walter’s favorite part. He definitely had to help me towards the top. We finally made it after 6 miles of climbing. The view made it all worth it.

We had to get a sibling shot :)

My brother looks so tall! But I am standing on a lower rock. After we chowed down on some peanut butter and jelly sandwiches, which are the best hiking food period, we headed back down the mountain. On the way I saw this sweet cactus.

It was so romantic! After 12 miles we were starving. Ice cream contes from the camp store were definitely in order. I felt like I was in elementary school as I debated between the strawberry shortcake ice cream stick or the nutty buddy cone. Ahh the memories. We were more than ready for dinner a few hours later.

On the menu: Zatarain’s pasta with locals sausage and carrot sticks. It tasted so good after a long day of hiking. After dinner we made sure to store all our food in the handy bear locker.

We definitely didn’t want any nighttime visitors!

Nest Monday… big Bend Part 3.

Question: Do you celebrate any strange holidays? I love Talk like a Pirate Day. I also love 7/11 for the free slurpies at 7-11. This qualifies as a holiday in my book!

4 responses to “Monday Memories: Big Bend Part II”

  1. Erica @ For the Sake of Cake says :

    Love the pic! I can tell that’s a UDel residence hall! :-)

  2. Meredith @ Food, Shoes, and Booze says :

    I definitely was a pirate for halloween.. a few times. other times i just dressed up as a pirate for fun. because why not.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

