B-A-N-A-N-A-S!

After hearing the radio discussion about bananas yesterday, I decided to do a post dedicated to my favorite fruit. In my house you will almost always find fresh bananas for snacking, frozen peeled bananas for smoothies, and frozen overripe bananas for baked goods.

Some of my favorite ways to eat bananas:

In oatmeal,

Frozen in smoothies,

And smothered in peanut butter.

I also love banana desserts.

Chunky Monkey is probably by favorite ice cream of all time. Banana with walnuts and chocolate… mmmm so yummy.

RuntsSource

I know there are many artificial banana flavor haters out there. I am not one of them. I will gladly eat all your banana Runts you pick out:)

Bananas have also taken over pop culture.

Source

Thanks to Gwen Stefani, there is no question on how to spell b-a-n-a-n-a-s.

Source

And parents are tearing their hair out after the Bananas in Pajamas theme song has played 20 times on loop. It’s so catchy right?

Bananas even inspire game makers.

Source

Bananagrams is one of the best games… like a fast paced version of Scrabble.

And now I leave you with some fun, random banana facts to impress your friends with. Or am I the only one who spews out random facts?

~1 medium banana contains 3 g fiber, 422 mg of potassium, and 20% of the daily recommended daily value of vitamin B-6 (source).

~Bananas do not grow on trees. The banana plant is actually the world’s largest perennial herb. (source)

~The average American eats 27 lbs of bananas in his/her lifetime. (source)

~The banana split was created in 1904 by David Evans Strickler, a pharmacist assistant, in Latrobe, PA. it only cost 10 cents! (source)

~In 2001, Britain recorded 300 incidents of injuries related to bananas. The majority of these involved people slipping on banana peels (source).

Questions: Do you know any interesting banana facts?

What is your favorite way to eat bananas?

13 responses to “B-A-N-A-N-A-S!”

  1. Michelle @ Michelle Does Germany says :

    I usually have a banana before i run in the mornings. Sometimes I’ll smother it with peanut butter if I’m feeling extra rebellious ;)

  2. Alexia @ NamasteYoga says :

    what a fun post! I dont eat many bananas, and if only in the mornings- I love them in smoothies and oatmeal.. oh and banana walnut bread.. mhmmm

  3. Sylvia @ Frolic Through Life says :

    I’m pretty sure the Gwen Stefani song will be stuck in my head for the rest of the day. I love bananas in my oatmeal. My son isn’t a huge banana fan so I always hide them in his oatmeal by mushing them up.

    I used to watch Bananas in Pajamas when I was a kid!

  4. lapiattini says :

    Cute post! I’ve never been the hugest banana fan. I think it’s a consistency thing for me. But I love baked banana items, like banana bread or muffins!

  5. Tessa @ Amazing Asset says :

    This was such a cute post! So this is terribly… but I have never tasted that B and J flavor! Madness i know

  6. Paige @ Running Around Normal says :

    I have been in sort of a banana hiatus lately! I guess I still put them in smoothies, but I only have smoothies about 4 times a week. I used to have about 3 bananas a day!!

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. WIAW: Apple Edition « Biking Before Bed - October 12, 2011

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

