WIAW: Apple Edition

Happy hump day! Only two more days til the weekend and only 19 days until Halloween. In case you were doing a countdown. I know I am:) This will be my first year in my own house and I am excited for trick or treaters! Today at 3:30 pm I got a $50 gift card at work for our 3rd quarter safety record. By 9:00 pm this gift card was already gone. But it went to good use… I got some Halloween decorations! They were already on sale, since its obviously time for the Christmas decorations. I’ll post some pictures as soon as I get them up:)

And now lets party. Jenn deserves a party… she finally got her internet back!

Peas and Crayons

So an apple a day keeps the doctor away… or so they say. With the amount of apples I ate today… he should be staying away for a long time. Let’s get this party started (cue Black Eyed Peas music here).

Peas and Crayons

Breakfast

20111012-095119.jpgApple Butter Oatmeal

Warm and cozy… fall in a bowl.

Serves: 1

Prep Time: 5 minutes

Cook Time: 7 minutes

Ingredients

3/4 cup almond milk

1/4 cup steel-cut oats

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1 apple, chopped

1 Tb nut butter (I used Sunbutter)

1 Tb apple butter

Cinnamon

Directions

Bring 3/4 cup almond milk to a boil. Add oats and vanilla, turn heat to low and cover. Cook for 7 minutes. Make sure to stir once or twice so the oats don’t get stuck to the bottom. Let the oats sit for 1-2 minutes after they are done cooking. Don’t forget this step… it helps make them extra thick! While the oats are cooking, microwave the chopped apple in a small amount of water for 1-2 minutes or until the pieces are soft. Top the oatmeal with the “baked” apple, nut butter, apple butter, and cinnamon.

This breakfast recipe is definitely a keeper. I normally don’t make steel-cut oats because they are a bit more time-consuming, but they flavor is amazing. I will have to start making a big batch on the weekend so I can eat it all week.

20111012-095124.jpg

Coffee in my favorite tourist mug. I definitely bought this in the airport:) And yes, sometimes I get messy and dribble my coffee down the side of the cup.

Lunch

20111012-095144.jpg

20111012-095139.jpg

Salad beast: Spinach, feta, roasted carrots and potatoes, crumbled corn muffin, tuna, and honey mustard dressing. I love the tuna in packets because they are so easy to pack in my lunch box. I find them much more convenient and less messy than the mini cans.

Dinner

20111012-095103.jpgBurger topped with apple and melted cheddar. Served on a whole wheat English muffin with some grainy mustard. Ryan was nervous about this flavor combo… but given his clean plate, I think he liked it. I love fruit and cheese. Apple and cheddar, grapes and brie, I could go on and on. On the side: the remaining apple slices and roasted squash.

Snacks

20111012-095110.jpgClif Bar Z Bar: Full Moon Brownie. Brownie flavored with white chocolate chips. And a cute Halloween wrapper. Win and win.

20111012-095151.jpgLeftover homemade applesauce served warm.

20111012-095131.jpgBanana with pumpkin peanut butter dip. I combined 1 Tb peanut butter, 3 Tb pumpkin and a splash of almond milk. Perfect dipping material:)

20111012-095054.jpgPost gym recovery fuel. Who decided that a serving of candy corn should only have 10 pieces?!

Question: Do you like fruit and cheese together? I really want to try to make an apple cheddar pie.

12 responses to “WIAW: Apple Edition”

  1. Brittany says :

    Fruit and cheese were MADE for eachother!! Delicious combination!

  2. Tracy's Treats says :

    Good call on the tuna packets. I should get some myself b/c I always want to bring tuna with me to work, but dread the thought of draining it in our shared kitchen!

  3. Alexia @ NamasteYoga says :

    I used to have a “Dont mess with Texas” mug too and absolutely loved it- it was the biggest one i had and perfect for my tea sessions.

  4. Rachael @ Fresh Squeezed Home says :

    Your breakfast looks so good. And isnt it Ridic that christmas decorations are out already …I do!

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Shop til you Drop « Biking Before Bed - October 17, 2011
  2. WIAW: Chili and Pink Plastic Cups « Biking Before Bed - October 18, 2011

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

