Hiking and Sunday Super Club

I woke up for the second day in a row without an alarm clock. Glorious. While Ryan slept I did some cooking for the week. I whipped up a turkey loaf, cranberry sauce, and some roasted potatoes and carrots. Once Ryan woke up we had a leisurely breakfast and then headed out to meet our friends Ryan and Sarah for an afternoon adventure.

Ryan and I spent the afternoon “hiking” around Sam Houston State Forrest, a park an hour north of Houston. I guess walking in the woods is a better term than hiking, since Houston doesn’t have hills let alone mountain! Despite the lack of elevation changes, it was still wonderful to be able to spend a few hours outside.

20111023-092658.jpg

We hiked on some of the paths in the Lone Star Trail network.

20111023-092711.jpgRyan was our fearless leader. He got us back to the car despite a few wrong turns. I have absolutely no sense of direction, so I just followed along. We had water and snacks so I wasn’t too worried:)

20111023-092706.jpgWe never figured out if there was actually a turtle inside.

20111023-092648.jpgDespite one or two days of rain, Houston is still in a severe drought. There is a burn ban in all parks.

20111023-092639.jpg

It was so sad to see the entire lake dried up.

After the hike, it was time for our monthly Supper Club. Ryan and I hosted last month with a Mexican themed meal.

This month, Sarah and Ryan prepared a delicious fall meal.

20111023-092718.jpgPumpkin beer.

20111023-092723.jpgRoast pork loin with apples, pears, and dried cherries.

20111023-092729.jpgPumpkin chili.

20111023-092734.jpgAcorn squash with butter and brown sugar.

20111023-092740.jpgDirt pudding!

Everything was so delicious and seasonal. I think my favorite parts of the meal were the squash and the dirt pudding. Dirt pudding is such a nostalgic dessert. For those of you who have never had it, it’s a mixture of pudding, cream cheese, cool whip, and Oreos. When you mix it all up, it kind of looks like dirt! I used to make it every summer for Fourth of July. I would serve it in a (clean) beach bucket with a plastic shovel. I would also garnish it with gummy worms. Sarah made her dirt pudding look so elegant in the trifle bowl!

Now Ryan and I are in a slight food coma. Time to digest and finish El Torino.

Question: What was the best thing you ate this weekend?

4 responses to “Hiking and Sunday Super Club”

  1. lapiattini says :

    The best thing I ate this weekend was some black and white cookies from my uncle’s bakery- so good!
    Looks like you had a lot of fun on your hiking adventure- that’s so cool that you found that turtle. I’m so curious if he was in there!

  2. Liz @ Southern Charm says :

    This sounds crazy, but the best thing I ate this weekend was a Lucky Dog from the French Quarter. I swear it’s true love! haha.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

