WIAW: Apple Cranberry Crisp 2

Happy 11/1/11! At the doctor today, I had so much fun writing this date over and over. I can’t wait for 11/11/11 in 10 days.

Things to look forward to in November

1. “Falling back (yay for light in the morning and an extra hour of sleep)!

2. Starting the Insanity challenge (I am 2 days in so far and I can tell that the title is no lie).

3. Ryan and my one year dating anniversary

4. My half-birthday (Feel free to send half a cake :))

5. Thanksgiving

6. Starting the month with a party…. a WIAW party to be exact.

This week I decided to bring an apple cranberry crisp. It’s rude to come to a party empty-handed!

20111101-094308.jpgYes, I know its November and Halloween is over. I should already be moving on to Christmas like every store in America. But I am going to hang on to my towels a few days longer ok?

Head on over to Peas and Crayons to check out all of the other eats and to join the party yourself! And thank Jenn too!

Breakfast

20111101-094211.jpgI tried out a new variety of oats this morning: Silver Palate Thick and Rough Oatmeal. It was on sale at the grocery store this weekend so I decided to give it a try. I cooked in on the stove with 1 % milk, water, and a mashed banana. Then I stirred in some pumpkin and topped with chunky peanut butter (salvaged from the broken glass), cranberry sauce, and pumpkin pie spice. It was utterly delicious. Perfect start to November! I need to try these new oats a few more times before I decide if they are better than my beloved Quaker:)

Lunch

20111101-094244.jpgI made another turkey loaf… just so I could continue with my turkey loaf salad beasts! I topped a bowl (Tupperware) of spinach with roasted sweet potatoes, canned beets, and turkey loaf. Now I just need to make some more homemade hummus and I will officially be in salad heaven.

Dinner

20111101-094251.jpgI made a recipe for dinner that I spotted on Eat, Live, Run for baked polenta with mushrooms, gorgonzola, and tomato sauce. I subbed feta for the gorgonzola since I am not a huge blue cheese lover. I also added some Italian chicken sausage. It was so quick to throw together! I tossed the chopped sausage in a grill pan while the water for the polenta was boiling. Layer everything in a dish and cook for 45 minutes! I will definitely be making this one again.

20111101-094257.jpgI definitely went back for seconds!

Snacks

20111101-094231.jpg

Humongous Honeycrisp apple! On sale by my parents for 99 cents a pound at a local farm. I made sure to grab a few. They were in my suitcase that got lost... luckily I got it back yesterday! Is it bad that I was more sad about possibly losing my bag of apples instead of my clothes?

20111101-094218.jpg

It is my mission to recreate this Lara Bar flavor. The lime flavor is so intense! According to the ingredients, it’s from lime concentrate. I think this goes into the top flavors along with peanut butter cookie and chocolate coconut.

Dessert

Apple crisp is my favorite fall dessert… well maybe it’s tied with pumpkin pie. This was always the first dessert that my mom made after apple picking. She always stocks up on cranberries so she can whip up a crisp any time of the year. This past weekend when I was home I think she had 7 packages in the freezer! The first time I set out to make this apple crisp, I couldn’t find fresh cranberries… so I modified the recipe to include dried cranberries.

Apple Cranberry Crisp 1

But now we are in the middle of cranberry season! So here is the “original” crisp recipe.

20111101-094314.jpg

Apple Cranberry Crisp 2

This is my favorite fall dessert. The tart cranberries literally burst in your mouth. The cloves add another layer of spice. This makes a perfect dessert with vanilla ice cream or a dollop of plain yogurt. This would also make a delicious breakfast!

Serves: 4-5

Prep Time:10 minutes

Bake Time: 35 minutes

Ingredients

Filling

6 oz cranberries (1/2 package)
3 small apples, cored and thinly sliced
3 Tb sugar

1 Tb flour

1 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp cloves

Topping

1/2 cup oats

1 Tb flour

1 Tb brown sugar

1/2 cup walnuts, chopped

1.5 Tb melted butter

Directions

Preheat oven to 375 F. Mix all filling ingredients and spoon into baking dish or individual ramekins.

Combine topping ingredients and crumble on top. Bake for 35 minutes. Let cool for 10 minutes.

Enjoy in a mug,

20111101-094321.jpgOn a plate (with some seasonal M&Ms)

20111101-094303.jpgOr maybe just grab your spoon and dig into the serving dish! Who wants to clean an extra plate?

20111101-094342.jpgWhile I prefered this crisp with fresh cranberries, Ryan found it a bit too tart. He like the version with dried cranberries better.

Question: Are you a fan of cranberries? Do you prefer them fresh or dry?

12 responses to “WIAW: Apple Cranberry Crisp 2”

  1. Tessa @ Amazing Asset says :

    I definitely prefer dry cranberries….they are tasty over salads! And adding it to the crisp sounds great too

  2. Erica @ For the Sake of Cake says :

    The apple cranberry crisp sounds amazing!!

  3. Lindsay@LivingLindsay says :

    Your crisp looks/sounds delicious! I have polenta in the pantry that I didn’t know what to do with. I’m going to check out that recipe!

  4. Tara says :

    I’m so looking forward to all those things in November! Except the insanity challenge, but I’m excited to hear about it from you. The apple cranbery crisp sounds to diiiiiiieeeee for. So fall-ish and delicious!

  5. Paige @ Running Around Normal says :

    I love crisps!! This one looks delicious!

  6. Anastasia says :

    Everything looks good! I would totally be upset about losing my apples and not care about my clothes too haha. I don’t even like key lime pie, but I love that flavor of Larabar! It really is intense in a wonderful way.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

