Its the start of Insanity!

On Halloween I started a 2 month challenge. I will get to spend every morning with this guy in my living room.

I will be wearing my new kicks (Asics Gel-Iperas)

I will be jumping around ungracefully while trying not to slip on my sweat that has dripped onto the living room floor.

Yes, you may call it Insanity.

I have never tried a DVD workout program before. But I have been feeling in a workout rut lately so I decided why not? For those of you who haven’t seen the infomercials with the infamous Shaun T, let me give you Insanity in a nutshell.

Insanity is a 2 month workout programs. You work out 6 days a week doing mostly plyometric exercises. Every 2 weeks you take a “fit test” which consists of doing as many repetitions as possible of 8 different moves, each for one minute. There is also an optional eating plan that goes with the workout portion.

So why am I doing this program? I am very competitive and love challenges, even against myself. My inner nerd loved the idea of tracking the fit test results in a spreadsheet and being able to see percent improvement. Yea, I’m a engineer, what can I say? I also love that for the next two months, I don’t have to think about my workouts. I may add in some additional exercise such as pilates or easy bike rides, but I will play it by ear. Since my goal is not to lose weight, but rather to improve my fitness, I am not following the eating plan.

Here are the results of my first fit test.

Date

31-Oct

Move

Fit Test 1

Switch Kicks

104

Power Jacks

57

Power Knees

96

Power Jumps

35

Globe Jumps

11

Suicide Jumps

23

Push-Up Jacks

31

Low Plank Oblique

35

I can’t wait for the final test on January 1. I figure it will be a great way to ring in the New Year (provided my numbers improve)!

4 days in and so far so good! I have been doing the workouts in the morning. I love being free after work. I feel like I have gained so much free time! My legs are quite sore, but in a good way.

I’ll be doing periodic updates. Now it’s time to get caught up on the Office! I wasn’t a big fan of the Halloween episode. I hope tonight’s is better.

Question: Have you ever tried a DVD workout program?

7 responses to “Its the start of Insanity!”

  1. Bianca @ Confessions of a Chocoholic says :

    I’ve heard pretty awesome things about Insanity and have been curious to try it. Looking forward to hearing about your progress!

  2. lapiattini says :

    Yessss! I’m so happy someone else is going to be going through this with me! Good job with your first Fit Test. I’m so happy we have power back- we are literally a week behind now because we lost it from Sat-today but we’re def looking forward to getting back into it.

  3. Lindsay @ Lindsay's List says :

    Oh good luck!! I know that Janetha has done this..you should go back through her posts to get tips, etc.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Shooed « Biking Before Bed - November 6, 2011
  2. Proud Crock Pot Owner « Biking Before Bed - November 6, 2011

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

