Proud Crock Pot Owner

Who enjoyed their extra hour of sleep? I know I did! A lazy Sunday morning and my rest day from Insanity called for a good breakfast.

20111106-094932.jpgFrench toast with Great Harvest Oat Bran bread. Topped with pumpkin dip:

1/4 cup pumpkin

1 TB Mighty Maple PB&Co

1 tsp maple syrup

2 TB almond milk

Pumpkin pie spice

I had planned to spend all morning reading, but instead I decided it was time to take the plunge and register for my own blog domain. When I started my blog, I wanted to make sure that I was going to keep up with it before I went all in. But this is my 71st post so I decided I wanted to take my blog to the next level so to speak. It’s a work in progress. I purchased the domain name and transferred all of my files but I am having trouble with the remapping part. I will hopefully get everything figured out by the end of the week! If anyone is super tech savvy and wants to lend a hand… email me! (bikingbeforebed@gmail.com)

After a few frustrating hours fiddling with the blog and being on hold with godaddy… it was time for a much-needed break.

Despite my not so good first impression with the local Pinkberry, I decided to give it another go.I was going to get pumpkin again but I decided I needed to be more adventurous… so I got a sample of the new holiday peppermint flavor. I was floored. I am not normally a peppermint fan, but this was probably the best frozen yogurt ever! It was tangy and minty all at once.

20111106-094925.jpg

At the recommendation of my server I went with peppermint and chocolate swirl topped with granola, chocolate shavings, and peppermint bark. I ate slowly (which is rare) so I could savor every bite. I could go for another right now!

While I was out I swung by Bed, Bath, and Beyond for this baby.

20111106-095025.jpgI had been wanting one for a while so I used one of the infamous 20% off a single item coupon and got this for 25 bucks. Score! Now I can start making all of the crock pot recipes I have bookmarked.

Next stop, HEB for groceries!

20111106-094942.jpgLight coconut milk, beets (my new weird obsession), roasted red peppers (more hummus is in my future), diced jalepenos, and salsa picante.

20111106-094949.jpgI went a little crazy in the yogurt buying department last week. Just needed one of my favorites: Key Lime Pie! I am loving the So Delicious Coconut Creamer. I wanted to try the hazelnut after reading Brittany’s rav review, but they were sold out.

20111106-094958.jpg

5 for 5 Lara Bars?! They seem to be going down in price every week. Last week was 4 for 5… I stuck mostly with the tried and true. Ginger Snap is my experimental flavor of the week.

20111106-095004.jpgChicken and cheese for my first Crock Pot experiment.

20111106-095010.jpgJonagolds and some bananas.

20111106-095019.jpgLots of produce! Fall veggies are some of my favorites. Spinach, butternut squash, cauliflower, onions, asparagus, eggplant, red bell pepper and a plastic bag (full of cilantro).

After stocking up on food, I was excited to get busy in the kitchen. Dinner tonight was delicious.

20111106-095047.jpgTofu and eggplant curry soup. It was chock full of veggies and definitely packed some heat. Recipe coming soon!

Time to give my eyes a rest. I feel like I have been staring at the screen all day. My bed and book are calling my name.

Question: What is the first thing I should make in my Crock Pot?

3 responses to “Proud Crock Pot Owner”

  1. Erica @ For the Sake of Cake says :

    Crock pots are awesome! I use mine at least once a week!

    I’m jealous of your 5 for 5 deal on Larabars! Mine are like $1.20 a piece! :-(

  2. Tracy's Treats says :

    Man I wish I could offer you crock pot suggestions. I got mine 2 years ago and have never used it since. I don’t know why! They are so simple and you can just leave your food to cook all day long! I hope others have some suggestions that we both can use!!

  3. lapiattini says :

    I wanna hear more about switching to your own domain! That’s really exciting and something I’ve been considering, but am nervous about.
    I do not have a crock pot- I’m not sure I’d use mine. I wonder if I should register for one…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

