And so it begins…

Welcome to the first post of Biking Before Bed! I have been reading food and fitness blogs for awhile now and I finally decided it was time to start my own! I am originally from Pennsylvania (the Philly side) and have been living outside Houston, TX for a year and a half.

I have been insanely jealous lately reading everyone’s fall posts. I still have several (or maybe more) weeks to go until the cool (for Texas) weather. It was a lovely 90 degrees (plus 100 more deegrees of humidity or so) at 8 AM on Saturday. Definitely not the motivation I needed to do any kind of outdoor workout activity.

Breakfast had to be cool…  a smoothie it was! With the heat, I couldn’t imagine a cup of coffee. Instead of an iced coffee I added a secret ingredient to my smoothie. And the secret ingredient is…  (insert dramatic Iron Chef music)… Espresso powder!

Medaglia D'Oro Instant Espresso Coffee, 2 oz

Source

I used Medaglia D’Oro which I found in the coffee aisle at the grocery store. It definitely adds a kick to your smoothie.

 Into the blender:

-1 frozen banana

-6 frozen strawberries

-1 cup almond milk

-1 strawberry Stonyfield Probiotic Yogurt

-Handful spinach

-Heaping spoonful almond butter

-1 tsp xanthum gum

-1 tsp espresso powder

It cooled me right off.

After some Saturday morning relaxing I decided to check out a local farmers market I drove by a couple of weeks ago. I will definitely be returning. There were only a few booths, but all of the food looked super yummy! There were lots of non edible items too.

Like these dresses.

20110829-113335.jpg

And my new mug!

20110829-113059.jpg

I also picked up some corn (I hope its sweet!) and some little potatos.

20110829-113028.jpg

Stay tuned for where these bad boys will end up later this week.

Leave a Reply

