Help… I overdosed on pumpkin!

I think that I have a problem. I am addicted to pumpkin. And its only September 13th! At the rate I am going, I may single-handedly cause a second pumpkin shortage. Although I know that I am not alone given all the pumpkin recipes popping up like weeds in blog land. I can’t wait to try this, and this, and this.

And look what I found to fuel my addiction this weekend…

20110912-090218.jpg

Pumpkin spice coffee for my Keurig! Green Mountain Coffee is my favorite variety. I was loving the summer flavors like Island Coconut and Wild Blueberry. I made a cup this morning in my mini brewer I have in my office and it was amazing. My whole office smelled like pumpkin and spice which was wonderful (especially since I work in a refinery which doesn’t always smell like roses). I enjoyed my pumpkin coffee with a splash of Caramel CoffeeMate Natual Bliss. I think this combo will make up (almost) for the fact that there are no Dunkin Doughnuts in Houston and therefore no pumpkin lattes.

Although pumpkin is mostly used in sweet recipes, one of my favorite pumpkin dishes is chili! I discovered a recipe for pumpkin chili in college and have been making it ever since. The pumpkin flavor is very subtle but I love the thick texture it provides. And who could say no to the extra fiber?

20110912-090212.jpg

Pumpkin Chili

Serves 4-6

Time 35 minutes

Ingredients

1 Tb olive oil

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 onion, chopped

1 pepper, chopped (I threw in an extra half of a chopped pepper)

2 jalepenos, seeds removed if desired (I went with half seeds)

1 lb lean ground beef (You could use ground turkey or leave the meat out)

1 can pumpkin

1 can diced tomatoes

1 can black beans (You could substitute kidney. If you leave out the meat you could add an extra can of beans)

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp pepper

1 -2 heaping Tb chili powder

1/2 Tb cumin

1. Chop up your veggies. Heat up olive oil in a large saucepan and saute veggies for ~ 5 minutes over medium heat.

20110912-090143.jpg

2. Add ground beef and break up the meat with your spatula (or wooden spoon… don’t want to play favorites). Cook until the meat is no longer pink, ~ 5 minutes.

20110912-090150.jpg

3. Add the pumpkin, tomatoes, black beans, salt, pepper, chili powder, and cumin. Reduce the heat to low and simmer, partially covered for 20 minutes.

20110912-090158.jpg

I love the colors and flavors of this dish. Every part of it screams fall. The reds, browns, and oranges, the pumpkin and cumin aromas. Now if only the temperature would cooperate…

20110912-090205.jpg

His and hers bowls:)

Question: What is your food addiction?

14 responses to “Help… I overdosed on pumpkin!”

  1. Brittany says :

    Pumpkin chili!?! YUM! That sounds amazing!

  2. Tracy's Treats says :

    Ooh that pumpkin chili looks good! I never thought of putting pumpkin in chili…how creative!

  3. Cait @ Cait hates Cake says :

    Chili would be perfect on a day like today – chilly and rainy and windy! Pumpkin is a great addition.

  4. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance says :

    PLEASE don’t cause a pumpkin shortage!! I love that stuff way too much.

    & that chili sounds great ๐Ÿ™‚ I love that the ingredients are so simple

  5. Katie @KatieDid says :

    I often buy that same kind of beef, and I posted a few weeks back about a similar pumpkin chili! This looks like another awesome version ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. janetha says :

    That chili looks wonderful! Perfect for the cooler temps ๐Ÿ™‚

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. WIAW: Pumpkin Addition « Biking Before Bed - September 14, 2011
  2. WIAW: Chili and Pink Plastic Cups « Biking Before Bed - October 18, 2011

Leave a Reply

