Cilantro Lime Salad Dressing

I think you could probably write a whole book on salad dressings… in fact I’m sure there is already one (many) out there. When I make a salad I tend to focus on the ingredients. Do I want spinach or romaine lettuce? Cheddar cheese or feta? Tomatoes or avocado… or maybe both? Once I have made all of these salad changing decisions I am exhausted! Oh yea… what am I going to put on top? Enter whatever half full bottle of dressing that happens to be in the fridge. I know I know, making your own dressing is so easy you say. But truthfully, the effort often doesn’t pay off in my opinion.

But then I discovered this recipe for cilantro lime dressing. I have been meaning to share this recipe all week! Ever since supper club last Saturday! I could literally eat this on any salad. Wait I could eat this on any food period. Ryan claimed that this was the best. dressing. ever. (as he was drinking the remaining drops out of the blender). Yes it’s that tasty.

Cilantro Lime Salad Dressing

(adapted from Allrecipes)

This zippy dressing is the perfect combination of sweet and spicy.

Serves 8

Ready in: 5 minutes

Ingredients

1 jalapeno pepper, seeded and chopped

1 clove garlic, peeled

1/4 cup lime juice

1/3 cup honey

1 Tb apple cider vinegar

1/2 tsp salt

1/3 cup chopped cilantro leaves

1/4 cup olive oil

1/4 cup vegetable oil

Directions

1. Add the jalapeno and garlic to the blender and pulse until finely chopped.

2. Add lime juice, honey, vinegar, salt, and cilantro. Pulse until combined.

3. Drizzle in oils until mixed.

4. Pour over salad… or drink straight from the blender.

Any leftover dressing can be stored in the fridge for a week… if it lasts that long!

20110916-105540.jpg

For supper club, this dressing was served over a mexican salad with homemade lettuce, homemade pico de gallo:

20110916-105459.jpg

Sweet juicy mango,

20110916-105518.jpg

Tangy, crunchy red onion,

20110916-105529.jpg

Garlic flavored black beans,

20110916-105534.jpg

Soft and mild queso fresco,

20110916-105512.jpg

and vibrant crispy bell peppers.

20110916-105545.jpg

I loved all of the bright colors. I think colorful food is so much more fun to eat!

Time to rest before a jam packed weekend. Metropolitan Cooking show tomorrow and Tour de Pink bike ride on Sunday!

Question: What is your favorite salad dressing? Before this discovery, I was a balsamic vinaigrette fan.

9 responses to “Cilantro Lime Salad Dressing”

  1. Tina @ Faith Fitness Fun says :

    I don’t usually make my own dressings either…but you’re right. Sometimes they are just worth it for the freshness. This sounds great!

  2. Shannon says :

    I hardly ever use dressings but I might give this one a try! 🙂

  3. MegSmith @ Cooking.In.College says :

    The salad! The dressing! It all looks amazing.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Monday Memories: Big Bend Part II « Biking Before Bed - September 19, 2011

Leave a Reply

