Tour de pink

Today I was up bright and early and ready to ride. I was relieved that it wasn’t raining. Riding in the rain is not fun. During my last rainy ride I got a flat tire and managed to fall off my bike and mess up my breaks a mile before the end. Since the ride was called Tour de Pink, it was the perfect occasion to break out the Cupcake Jersey!

20110918-083706.jpg

I got to the ride with plenty of time to spare which rarely happens for me. It was nice to be able to leisurely get all my gear together and eat my breakfast snacks. I’m so glad I packed food because there was nothing open in the wee hours of Sunday morning. I snacked on some cereal, apple slices, and Kashi Go Lean bar before heading to the start to meet my friend Kelsey.

Kelsey and I met at a group ride a few months ago. We have been trying to ride together again since, but could never find the time until today!

20110918-083659.jpg

We debated back and forth on which ride distance we wanted to do and finally settled on the 63 mile route. The first 13 miles were brutal. We were going straight into the wind. Look at how much the balloons at the first rest stop were blowing!

20110918-083603.jpg

Once we changed directions, the riding became much easier and more enjoyable. It was great riding with Kelsey. Chatting makes the miles fly by!

The second rest stop had a Christmas theme. I’m not sure why… but it was so festive. They were even playing Christmas music!

20110918-083648.jpg

I loved the pink bike cut outs in the decorations!

The ride took us through several small towns. Too bad it was Sunday and the general store was closed.

20110918-083618.jpg

I love riding in more rural areas and not having to worry about cars.

We almost bypassed the last rest stop because we were so anxious to be done… but I’m glad we didn’t… there was a live band! (Pardon the distance camera phone shot).

20110918-083624.jpg

They were playing zydeco music which is a type of Cajun folk music. One guy was playing the washboard. My favorite was when they started playing a folk version of the Cha Cha Slide! A few bikers even broke out dancing.

The last two miles were brutal. We were riding uphill into the wind on a road that badly needed to be paved. We were so excited when we rolled through the finish line. Given the wind I was very glad we chose to do 63 miles instead of 80. We managed to keep an average pace of 16 mph too!

We immediately headed for the food tent. I was ready to eat my arm! A lot of the rest stops had cookies and candy and other sugary foods that I knew would not be good to eat in the middle of a ride. I did have a couple granola bars and some bananas and oranges. But I was ready for some real food. My barbecue chicken sandwich was gone in 30 seconds flat.

After my lunch I checked out some of the decorations. The goal of the ride was to raise money for breast cancer. I loved the ribbon statues.

20110918-083628.jpg

On my way back to the car I saw a quick performance by a local college’s drum line! It brought back memories of the movie…. one of Nick Canon’s finer moments.

20110918-083613.jpg

After the long drive home, I was ready for a snack.

20110918-083608.jpg

It was too hot for a hot drink… so I went with an Iced Pumpkin Latte. It was delicious. I may even like it better than the hot version!

Then it was time to unpack the goodies I scored at the Metropolitan Cooking Show yesterday.

20110918-083557.jpg

I normally don’t mind making pancakes for scratch… but this mix will be delicious when I want something quick! They are made my Kerby Lane Cafe which is a restaurant in Austin. After sampling their pancakes, I will be making a visit next time I go to Austin.

20110918-083548.jpg

I tasted all of the varieties of Peanut Butter and Co nut butters and got my two favs. I had never had the Mighty Maple Flavor… and it was so yummy. I also had to stock up since I am almost out of Dark Chocolate Dreams. And yes… the jar in the picture is almost empty. The new one is at Ryan’s so I can have my fix at his house too 🙂 I had only had Brianna’s poppyseed dressing previously so I picked up two new flavor to try: Blush vinaigrette and Ginger Mandarin. I think the Ginger Mandarin will make a yummy marinade for asian chicken dishes.

20110918-083724.jpg

I picked up 5 or 6 new tote bags this weekend. They are definitely my favorite free goodie. I literally use them for everything! I loved this PB one:)

I am completely wiped out from a fun-filled weekend. See you on Monday!

Question: Have you ever participated in a ride or run to benefit a charity?

9 responses to “Tour de pink”

  1. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance says :

    PB & Co. tote!? Oh my gosh that is adorable! Where did you get it from?

    I’ve tried a lot of the flavors, but never the maple. I love Justin’s Maple Almond butter so I should definitely give that a shot!

  2. lapiattini says :

    Cute shirt! And great job on your ride 🙂
    I’m pretty much obsessed with Peanut Butter and Co. I’ve tried 4 of their flavors, but somehow never the Maple- it will be next on the list- once I get through the 5 jars we have now!!!

  3. Paige @ Running Around Normal says :

    Good for you girl! What an event!
    I’ve run in a couple races that were for charity…but nothing like this!

  4. Fit Chick Britt says :

    Love the cupcake jersey. I’ve done one charity ride that was 50 miles. The wind was killer that day too. I admire your mad cycling skills- you kept a good pace!

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Monday Memories: Big Bend Part II « Biking Before Bed - September 19, 2011

Leave a Reply

