WIAW: Raspberry Edition

And now folks its time to PAR-TAY!

Peas and Crayons

This week’s What I Ate Wednesday is brought to you by the letter R and the numbers 4 and 5.

R is for raspberries.

20110921-072318.jpg

That were on sale this week: 4 packages for $5! Sometimes when I go to the grocery store I am very specific about what produce I am going to buy while other times I just write “Fruits and veggies.” This was one of the vague weeks… so raspberries it was!

A shout out to Jenn for once again hosting a great mid-week WIAW party!

Peas and Crayons

Breakfast

20110921-072210.jpg

I was very intrigued by Courtney’s “Ode to Buckwheat” post. I was a little nervous to venture out of my oatmeal comfort zone but I am so glad I did! Using roasted buckwheat from the bulk bins, I followed Courtney’s directions to a tee. I stirred in some cocoa powder at the end and let them sit in the fridge overnight. This morning I added PB&CO Dark Chocolate Dreams and … you guess it raspberries and a scoop of raspberry jelly! Thanks Courtney… buckwheat has a new fan.

Lunch

20110921-072234.jpg

Salad beast with mixed greens, queso fresco, bell peppers, and leftover salmon and tomatoes. I loved this combination… I can’t remember the last time I had salmon as my salad protein.

Snacks

20110921-072225.jpg

Pineapple Chobani (I’m not a big fan of raspberry yogurt… )

20110921-072218.jpg

Raspberry green tea and … drum roll…

20110921-072303.jpg

Raspberry white chocolate muffins! I loved the flavor combination. Stay tuned for the recipe later this week.

Dinner

20110921-072339.jpg

Greek turkey burger with spinach and feta and roasted sweet potatoes. Frozen spinach is my new favorite ingredient. I feel like I have been adding it to everything lately!

Dessert

20110921-072241.jpg

Frozen grapes. I had never frozen green grapes before because I had always heard that they were not as good as red… but I loved them! I wish I had tried freezing them earlier.

20110921-072313.jpg

And this bad boy I found lurking in my freezer… a leftover Pumpkin Cookie Ice Cream Sandwich! I was nice and shared it with Ryan:)

Thanks to raspberries for making my day sweet.

Questions: What would you choose as your letter and number of the day?

Do you enjoy frozen grapes? Do you freeze all colors of grape?

25 responses to “WIAW: Raspberry Edition”

  1. Sweet and Savvy says :

    Call me crazy, but I am not a fan of frozen grapes! I like them extremely cold, but not frozen. I think it may be due to my sensitive teeth. Red/purple grapes are my favorite! 🙂

  2. Tara says :

    Raspberry White Chocolate Muffins sound AMAZING!!! Oh my goodness I want. I don’t like frozen grapes and I’m not crazy about nonfrozen ones either, but I’ll eat any color.

  3. Tessa @ Amazing Asset says :

    I do love frozen grapes… they are tasty and sorbet like 🙂 Yumm
    Those muffins sound wonderfully good!

  4. Tessa @ Amazing Asset says :

    Loving those muffins, those two flavors together sound perfect!

  5. emily (a nutritionist eats) says :

    Pumpkin ice cream sandwich!? Whaaaaaat? YUM

  6. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance says :

    I LOVE frozen grapes! I used to have a stock in my fridge at all times, but have been slacking as of late. Have you ever tried frozen blueberries??

  7. sarah (onedayiwillseethesun) says :

    yey another blogger who likes cycling!! I ride a specialized drop handle road bike, I love all your eats. espically roasted sweet potato and those muffins!!

  8. Cait @ Cait hates Cake says :

    I like frozen grapes! Red or green! And you got a great deal on raspberries! That muffin sounds delicious…

  9. Tracy's Treats says :

    Frozen grapes are such good summer snacks!!!

  10. Paige @ Running Around Normal says :

    I don’t think I’ve ever had a frozen grape! I know a lot of people say they taste like candy though:)

  11. Kate (What Kate is Cooking) says :

    I’ve never tried freezing grapes before, but that’s a good idea! I buy several pounds at a time and some of them go bad before I eat them, so I really should.

    That pumpkin ice cream sandwich looks AMAZING. I will be making that as soon as possible!

  12. Errign says :

    I do enjoy frozen grapes. Tasty little things! I also really like raspberry chobani though, too 🙂

    pumpkin ice cream sandwich? sign me up!

Leave a Reply

