National Ice Cream Day and Super Easy Salmon Packets

 

 

 

 

 

Following up on last Thursday’s post, I put together another Thankful Thursday list. It’s easy to get caught up in work, school, relationships, etc that we forget to slow down and enjoy the little things that make life worth living! Here’s this week’s list… Enjoy!

1. National Ice Cream Cone Day

I have Brittany to thank for this one. Thank goodness I stopped by her blog this morning or I would have missed this awesome holiday! I went to Jason’s Deli to celebrate. Jason’s Deli is my favorite chain restaurant. Its salad bar is amazing, and many of the items are organic which is awesome! I started with dinner.

20110922-095029.jpg

In the mix: mixed greens, olives, tomatoes, bell peppers, mushrooms, artichokes, hard-boiled egg, cranberries, and walnuts. Topped with raspberry vinaigrette and some watermelon and hummus on the side. Phew. And then the celebratory cone!

20110922-095023.jpg

2. My trainer

No not a personal trainer, my bike trainer. I had been loving my morning runs (check out my running route), but with the sun coming up later and later, I decided to switch it up. I bought my trainer last year when I was training for the MS150 ride. You just attach your back wheel, and instant spin bike!

20110922-095038.jpg

A bike is a completely legit piece of living room furniture right?

20110922-095044.jpg

My food and phone pouch is perfect for the remote! This morning I rode while watching…

3. Glee!

I was a bit nervous for the season premiere because I wasn’t a huge fan of the end of last season. But it didn’t disappoint. I loved that they included so many show tunes.

Source

I grew up listening to musical soundtracks so these numbers are always my favorite! I have high hopes for this season.

4. Guayaki Organic Yerba Mate in Mate Chocolatté20110922-095052.jpg

Ryan needed to pick up some protein at GNC a month ago. While browsing around the store, I noticed that they have a huge tea selection! I picked this up on a whim (and it was on sale… score)! According to their website,

The uplifting and nourishing choice of health-minded individuals, yerba mate boasts 24 vitamins and minerals, 15 amino acids and abundant antioxidants.  Yerba mate is also known for its adaptogen-like qualities, which include reducing the effects of occasional stress.
Its flavor reminds me of a cross between tea and hot chocolate. There is stevia leaf in the tea bag so it is already slightly sweet. I am on my last tea bag so this week I might try out another flavor like Chai Mate.

5. Super Easy Salmon Packets

(adapted from  Giada De Laurentiis)

I love cooking anything in foil… mostly because there is no mess to clean up! This recipe is super easy (hence the title) and can easily be adapted with different veggies spices or even different fish.

Serves 4

Prep Time: 10 minutes

Cook Time: 25 minutes

Ingredients

1 Tb lime juice

1/2 Tb oregano

1/2 Tb thyme

1 14 oz can diced tomatoes, drained

1/4 red onion chopped

1/2 Tb olive oil

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp pepper

4 salmon filets (I used 1.25 lbs salmon total)

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 400 F.

2. Combine all of the ingredients except the salmon.

20110922-095059.jpg
3. Place each piece of salmon in the center of a large sheet of tin foil.

20110922-095105.jpg

4. Spoon the tomato mixture over each piece of salmon.

20110922-095111.jpg

5. Fold up your packets and place them on a cookie sheet. I learned this step the hard way after I got tomato juice all over my oven:)

6. Bake for 25 minutes.

20110922-095116.jpg

The first night, the salmon was enjoyed with roasted brussels sprouts, my favorite fall veggie! The salmon was moist and juicy which was a great contrast to the crunchy brussels sprouts.

Leftover salmon was enjoyed in salads (like from WIAW!)

Check out last Thankful Thursday post here.

Thankful on Thursday

Question: What is your favorite fall vegetable? I love roasted brussels sprouts. My favorite parts are the leaves that fall off and get super crunchy. I always scrape off every last one.

10 responses to “National Ice Cream Day and Super Easy Salmon Packets”

  1. GetSkinnyGoVegan says :

    I am a Mate Addict. Buy the air dried stuff though, San Mateo type of Guayaki because it’s lower in PAH’s. PLUS, you gotta get a gourd!!

  2. Tessa @ Amazing Asset says :

    this salmon recipe sounds wonderful! I love salmon now, especially after depriving myself of it for YEARS!
    I love pumpkins for my favorite fall veggie 🙂

    • bikingbeforebed says :

      I hated salmon growing up. I think it was because my mom bought the kind with the little bones. I hated picking the bones out as I ate. And I didn’t like the fishy smell left in the house.

  3. survivingcandyland says :

    I LOVE Glee. I agree though. Last season did not really go well. I’m glad they are going back to basics! It was national icecream day? How do I always miss amazing days like this. There should be a calendar of national food days somewhere.

    • bikingbeforebed says :

      I read about the holiday on Itty Bit of Balance… and awesome blog by Brittany. I actually do have a calendar with a lot of food holidays from Food Network. I can’t wait to hear your opinion about this season’s episodes.

Leave a Reply

