Raspberry White Chocolate Muffins

Another week gone by. I can’t believe it’s almost October! And October brings Halloween, my favorite holiday! I don’t know which part I like more, the excuse to dress up or the candy…. it’s a toss-up.

To start off your weekend I wanted to share the recipe for the raspberry white chocolate muffins I wrote about in this week’s WIAW post.

20110923-071630.jpg

As anyone who bakes knows, it often takes several times to get new recipes right. The first time I used blueberries.

20110923-071706.jpg

They were too moist, almost soggy, but I’m sure blueberries would be a great substitution for the raspberries in this recipe!

For round two, I used raspberries because of the crazy sale I pounced on at the grocery store.

20110923-071559.jpg

I think the only time I had ever had white chocolate and raspberries together was in ice cream… and it was divine!

Raspberry White Chocolate Muffins

These muffins are not too sweet so the flavors of raspberry and white chocolate can shine.

Serves: 12

Prep Time: 10 minutes

Bake Time: 20-25 minutes

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups flour (I used King Arthur’s White Whole Wheat, you could substitute All Purpose)

1/2 cup oats

1/3 cup brown sugar

2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

1 tsp cinnamon

1 large mashed banana

1 egg

1/2 cup almond milk

1/4 cup maple syrup

1/4 cup plain yogurt (I used nonfat Greek)

1 Tb melted butter

1 1/4 cup raspberries (about one and a half packages), chopped

1/4 cup white chocolate chunks

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 F.

2. Mix together flour, oats, brown sugar, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon.

20110923-071700.jpg

3. In a separate bowl, mash the banana with a fork. I always store frozen bananas in the freezer. When they turn black, I stick them in the freezer… without peeling them. Then I just microwave them on a paper towel for 30-40 seconds, and peel them into the bowl.

4. Add egg, almond milk, maple syrup, yogurt, and melted butter to the mashed banana.

5. Fold the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients. Don’t mis too much or the muffins will get tough. Just mix until you don’t see any white streaks of flour.

20110923-071609.jpg

6. Fold in the raspberries and white chocolate until combined.

7. Scoop into a muffin tin.

8. Bake for 20-25 minutes. Stick a toothpick into the center of one of the muffins. If it comes out clean, they are done.

9. Cool for 10 minutes in the pan and then move them onto a baking rack.

20110923-071622.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Once they are cool (who am I kidding… I definitely had one piping hot), dig in! I love them warm so that the white chocolate starts to melt.

20110923-071648.jpg

It’s hard to stop at just one.

20110923-071654.jpg

Now I’m off for round 1 of celebrating Ryan’s birthday. He will be 26 next Tuesday! I can’t wait to remind him how much of an old man he is for the next 8 months until my birthday:) He has to work nights on his real b-day so I am starting the celebration early. I picked up a Groupon for Red Fox, a restaurant we have been dying to try. The food is described as “upscale Texan coastal cuisine.”

Have a great night!

Question: What is your favorite fruit and chocolate pairing? Mine is dark chocolate and orange. It makes me think of those chocolate oranges you used to get at Christmas that you would whack on the table and it would break into slices. Does anyone remember those?

3 responses to “Raspberry White Chocolate Muffins”

  1. Brittany says :

    These look and sound DELICIOUS! I can never wait until my baked good are cooled off before diving in. I like white chocolate with raspberry just like this..or with lemon and I am 100% with you on the choco and orange..I LOVED those holiday oranges.

  2. dog potty training hints and tips says :

    A better system is too hang about for a pause in your dogs
    barking thedn heap heaps of praise and a treat on your dog.
    Youur dog mayy want to investigate and sniff the areas you take him, that is fine as long
    ass he is not jerking, orr pulling on you, and he is not jumping on things.
    For those of you who want to enjoy a sport
    or compete in an activity with your dog, you will need tto move along to more complex dog training.

Leave a Reply

