Wine Fest and Cupcakes

After our 45 mile ride we were starving! But first we had to pick up some cupcakes. I had a Groupon to Delesandri’s Gourmet Cupcakes which I had completely forgotten about. I seriously think that site should send out reminders when your coupons are about to expire. I always end up using them at the last possible minute. I had been to Delesandri’s once before and was excited to try out some more of their flavors.

20110925-070817.jpgI love the cute sign. Going into a cupcake shop before lunch is never a good idea. I wanted to try every flavor. I had only planned on getting a half-dozen but the cashier easily convinced me to get the whole dozen. Didn’t take much to twist my arm:)

After the cupcake run, it was time for lunch. We were on a coupon kick and decided to use a Subway gift card.

20110925-070812.jpgRyan and I split the September 5 dollar foot long: Turkey and Black Forest Ham, lettuce, banana peppers, olives, avocado, and honey mustard. I added some pickles when I got home. I love that Subway has avocado now. It takes the sandwiches to a whole new level.

After inhaling our subs, we headed downtown to meet friends at the Houston Wine Fest. I didn’t really know what to expect since none of us had ever been there before. Mallory and I had bought… you guessed it Groupons! It got us entrance to the festival, a commemorative (plastic) glass, and five wine tasting coupons.

It was quite crowded despite the heat. 95 degrees is a bit warm for summer don’t you think? We did a lap first to see what there was to offer before we started using out tickets. In addition to the wine, there were lots of craft, jewelry, and food vendors.

Ryan and I used our first tickets at the Red Road Vineyard tent. They were our favorite wines we tasted all day.

20110925-070822.jpgRyan liked a sweet white wine called “Honey I’m Home” and I was in love with the Muscat Canelli. If you ever find yourself in Naples, TX, I would highly recommend stopping by their vineyard! I used most of my tickets to taste other Texas wines. Another favorite was the sparkling wine from Landon Winery. It was the perfect light wine for the heat.

20110925-070840.jpg

We had a couple of unique tastings. First we tried a chocolate, espresso wine. It tasted good at first, kind of like alcoholic chocolate milk. But after a few sips it was too heavy and not one could finish it. I’ll stick to Bailys and Kahlua for my creamy drinks.

20110925-070900.jpg

It was fun browsing the art tents. I was tempted to buy so many things! Some favorites included the wire sculptures.

20110925-070834.jpg

The rock wine racks,

20110925-070828.jpg

the wine art

20110925-070918.jpg

and the super cute aprons.

20110925-070905.jpgSarah tried on a silk wrap dress. Apparently it can be worn in 30 different ways!

20110925-070913.jpg

We also tasted some delicious vinegar. My favorite was definitely the vanilla fig. It was a bit pricey but I am going to keep my eyes peeled for that flavor.

After a couple of hours we were hot, sweaty, and out of drink tickets so we headed back to Mallory’s for dinner. We were all starving and eagerly dug in.

20110925-070804.jpgPasta bake with homemade sauce, ricotta, turkey sausage, and mozzarella, warm bread, and salad with lemon vinaigrette. Everyone had seconds and thirds. Mallory really made a crowd pleaser.

Dessert were the cupcakes I had bought earlier (bet you were waiting for the pictures)!

20110925-070755.jpgWe cut them into quarters so everyone could sample different kinds. My favorite was the cookies and cream. There were Oreos in the icing and the cake! I also tried the strawberry, Reese’s, and Boston Creme Pie. The only disappointing one was the Reese’s. Besides the whole peanut butter cup inside, there wasn’t enough peanut butter flavor.

After dinner I headed home and Ryan went to a late night car show. It was a great Saturday with all my favorite things: friends, bikes, wine and cupcakes:)

Question: What activities would you do on a “perfect” Saturday?

7 responses to “Wine Fest and Cupcakes”

  1. Tracy's Treats says :

    Ah, those cupcakes look so so delicious. It sounds like you had a fabulous Saturday! I think my perfect Saturday would consist of a long run in the morning, followed by a day of lounging with friends and family. 🙂

  2. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance says :

    Looks like such a fun-filled day! Seeing those aprons reminded me that I need to get one– I always finish cooking with food wiped all over my pants 😦

    My perfect idea of a Saturday would consist of a day at home relaxing with not a care in the world. Perhaps throw some pumpkin flavored coffee in there and I’m set.

  3. lindsay says :

    coupons, wine, and cupcakes? Can it get any better? Your saturday was well “spent.” hehe.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. WIAW: Ryan’s Birthday Edition « Biking Before Bed - September 28, 2011

Leave a Reply

