Better Breakfast: Carrot Cake Pancakes

If I only could eat one meal a day, I would choose breakfast in a heartbeat. I think I can count on one hand the number of times I have skipped breakfast. I go to bed at night already planning what I am going to have the next morning. I am, to put it lightly, breakfast obsessed.

Enter Janetha’s breakfast challenge. When I read her post, I think i squealed out loud. I was so excited to come up with a new spin on breakfast food.

So here’s the gist of the challenge (which is in honor of September being better breakfast month).

Make a better breakfast. Take a photo. Eat the breakfast.

Simple right?

When I think of my typical breakfast, there is often one key food group missing: vegetables. Unless I make a smoothie and sneak in some spinach, I normally don’t include veggies in the am.

The easiest way to add veggies to my breakfast would be to make an omlette and load it up. But I am a sweet breakfast fan so I decided to go the pancake route.

After debating between different veggies I settled on

20110929-092311.jpgCarrots!

The other star of my pancakes is…

20110929-092227.jpgAttune Food’s Uncle Sam Cereal! One serving of this cereal (3/4 of a cup) has 10 grams of fiber. Definitely better breakfast material.

Combining carrots, crushed cereal, and some other pancake-y ingredients…

20110929-092304.jpg

Carrot Cake pancakes!

They were slightly denser than your average pancake but they were sweet and kept me full for hours!

20110929-092250.jpg

Carrot Cake Pancakes

These pancakes take a bit more time to prepare, but the end result is worth it. I love the sweetness of the carrots and raisins contrasted with the crunch of the walnuts.

Serves: 3-4

Prep Time: 10 minutes

Ingredients

1/2 cup white whole wheat flour

1/2 cup crushed Uncle Sam’s cereal*

1 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice

1/4 tsp nutmeg

1/8 tsp cloves

3/4 cup almond milk

1 egg

1 Tb melted butter

2 Tb maple syrup

1 tsp vanilla

2 carrots, grated*

1/4 cup walnuts, chopped*

1/4 cup raisins

Directions

Combine flour, crushed cereal, baking powder, baking soda, salt, pumpkin pie spice, nutmeg, and cloves. In a separate bowl, combine almond milk, egg, melted butter, and maple syrup. Add the wet ingredients to the dry and stir until just combined. Add in the walnuts and raisins. Cook in a frying pan for 2-3 minutes a side.

*Note: I prepared all of these ingredients in the food processor. It made for an easy clean up!

20110929-092240.jpgThese pancakes would be delicious with syrup, peanut butter, or maybe cream cheese icing? I topped mine with a combination of syrup and apple sauce. I love cutting the sweetness of the maple syrup with unsweetened applesauce.

Was this a better breakfast? You bet!

Thanks again for Janetha for setting up this awesome challenge. Check our Meals and Moves for all of the entries.

Questions: What is your idea of a better breakfast?

What is your favorite pancake topping?

7 responses to “Better Breakfast: Carrot Cake Pancakes”

  1. Tracy's Treats says :

    The garlic press is the bomb. It’s so easy to use and saves a ton of time, not to mention it prevents the permanent garlic smell on your fingers!

  2. survivingcandyland says :

    Mmmmm carrot cake pancakes. That sounds so delicious. I think I’m going to have to throw in a carrot cake pancake recipe sometime soon.

  3. Sweet and Savvy says :

    Adding the cereal is an AWESOME idea! 🙂 These look wonderful!

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. YOUR better breakfasts! - October 4, 2011

Leave a Reply

