Apple Cranberry Crisp 1

My mom was never a big baker. I remember the time she tried to make my little brother a “healthy” birthday cake. Lets just say that was the first and last of the homemade cakes:) She did have three desserts that were in heavy rotation depending on the season. In the summer, she made a frozen yogurt pie. It was a combination of fruit yogurt, frozen fruit, and cool whip in a graham cracker crust. It was the best eaten with your hands barefoot in the grass. In the winter, there were always homemade chocolate chip cookies with walnuts. Gooey melted chocolate and crunchy walnuts will never go out of style. In the fall, she made cranberry apple crisp. This remains one of my favorite recipes of all time.

20111007-085406.jpg

When I came home with my mountain of apples, I knew that this was the first recipe I wanted to make.

20111007-085254.jpg

I was so disappointed when I went to the grocery store and there were no fresh cranberries:( I guess I have to wait until closer to Thanksgiving? I decided to modify the recipe to use Craisins instead.

20111007-085308.jpgI actually had Craisins before they ever came out in the grocery store. I was at the Ocean Spray museum in Plymouth, Massachusetts and they were giving out free samples. They were so addicting. I bought a big bag at the gift shop and was so excited a few months later when they popped up in stores. If you are ever in Plymouth, definitely check out the museum. You can sample every type of cranberry juice!

Back to the recipe…

Apple Cranberry Crisp 1

This crisp has a wonderful mixture of textures and flavors. Crunchy walnuts, chewy sweet cranberries, and tart, just cooked apples.

Serves: 4-5

Prep Time:10 minutes

Bake Time: 35 minutes

Ingredients

Filling

1/2 cup dried cranberries
2 apples, cored and thinly sliced
1 Tb brown sugar
2 Tb flour

1/2 tsp cinnamon

Topping

1/3 cup oats

2 Tb flour

1 Tb brown sugar

1/3 cup walnuts, chopped

1.5 Tb melted butter

Directions

Preheat oven to 375 F. Mix all filling ingredients and spoon into glass baking dish or individual ramekins.

20111007-085319.jpg

Combine topping ingredients and crumble on top. Bake for 35 minutes. Let cool for 10 minutes.

20111007-085333.jpgI love my apple crisp hot out of the oven topped with greek yogurt and cinnamon.

20111007-085340.jpgRyan preferred his “naked.”

20111007-085352.jpgDon’t be fooled by the individual portions. You can’t just eat one. These aren’t too sweet so they would also be perfect for breakfast:)

Once I get my hands on some fresh cranberries, I will be posting Apple Cranberry Crisp 2!

Thanks for all of you who gave me apple recipe ideas. Keep them coming… this one only used two apples!

Question: What is your favorite childhood dessert?

5 responses to “Apple Cranberry Crisp 1”

  1. lapiattini says :

    Aww they look so cute in their individual ramekins! Love the idea of adding craisins.

  2. Oats n' Bows says :

    Haha “healthy” baking is hard. But we all try 😛 My boyfriend would love this recipe! Totally bookmarking it 🙂

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. WIAW: Apple Cranberry Crisp 2 « Biking Before Bed - November 1, 2011

Leave a Reply

