Hug a Red Box

It was another busy fun-filled Saturday.

20111008-091340.jpgChocolate overnight oats with peanut butter, chia seeds, and banana.

After breakfast, I went to the gym for the new Body Pump Release. I loved the workout… but I’m not loving all of the cover songs. The class was mostly girls, as usual. The triceps track uses a cover of “Born this Way,” by Lady Gaga. After the track, one guy told the instructor he “wasn’t feeling it.” She asked him if it was too easy for him… maybe he needed to up his weight. He responded, “No, I just can’t get pumped up to someone telling me to be a queen:)”

Despite being super sweaty, I headed into a new Academy Sports Store that opened up near the gym. For those of you non-Texans, Academy is like Sports Authority of Dicks Sporting Goods. Didn’t think anyone would mind if I showed up to a sports store in my workout gear. Since it was opening weekend, there were tons of raffles and giveaways. I signed up to win a 500 dollar gift card and a pink guitar autographed my George Straight (not sure why it was in the sports store…) But the best win of the day…

20111008-091426.jpgMy very own Crocs doll:) I used to be totally anti-Crocs. Until I went to Disney two years ago and only had sneakers and flip-flops. I bought some Mickey crocs so I could walk around comfortably and still be able to go on water rides. For all you Crocs haters, I know they are not a fashion statement… but they are so comfy!

In the afternoon, my friend Mallory and I volunteered at the Bayou City Arts Festival in downtown Houston. I picked up one of these on the way.

20111008-091347.jpgNo pumpkin today, just a plain Cafe Latte. Also had to have a snack…

20111008-091453.jpgBetcha saw that one coming:)

Mallory and I were assigned to volunteer at one of the drink tents. Ten percent of all of the drink proceeds plus any tips went to SNAP, an organization that helps to spay and neuter homeless cats and dogs. Their mission is to:

To prevent the suffering and death of cats and dogs
due to overpopulation and preventable diseases,
especially in low-income areas.

Apparently last year between drink sales and company grants, the arts festival raised over $30,000 for SNAP. As a volunteer, I got unlimited non-alcoholic drinks. I now have a new favorite iced tea.

20111008-091431.jpgSweet Leaf Teas are actually made in Austin, TX. Although it was fairly high in sugar to drink on a daily basis, it was delicious. I loved the mint and honey flavor combination.

After volunteering for a couple hours, Mallory and I took a break to walk around the festival. There were artists from all over the country! Some of my favs…

20111008-091359.jpgSunflower basket wall hanging (my favorite flower!)

20111008-091353.jpgGarden mannequin. Each mannequin came with seed packets!

20111008-091405.jpgStreet art.

20111008-091410.jpg20111008-091416.jpg

Finger puppets! I loved all of the puppet sets but these were two of my favorites. I love Harry’s crazy hair.

Luckily I had prepared dinner at 6:30 am. Yes, I know, today was Saturday. I like mornings… what can I say?

20111008-091421.jpgApple and Bacon Stuffed Acorn Squash, recipe courtesy of Heather and a leftover corn muffin. Please check out Heather’s Dish for the recipe. Its a seriously addicting explosion of fall flavors.

Ryan and I opted for a lazy night in so I hit up the Redbox. Did you know that you can enter to win a Sony Home Theater System? All you have to do is take a picture of you hugging the Redbox! Click the link below for more details.

http://www.redboxshareyourlove.com/

I almost asked a stranger to take a pic of me… but I decided I’ll wait until tomorrow when Ryan and I return the DVD. I just want to see his embarrassment as I hug the Redbox in public:)

Our movie watching was an epic fail… there were scratches all over the disc:( Oh well.I am going to write Redbox an email and see if I can get a free rental.

Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

Question: What is the most embarrassing thing you have ever done in public? I could make a list a mile long:) One of my favorites was when my friend Katie and I dressed up as Thing 1 and Thing 2 to go see Cat in the Hat.

11 responses to “Hug a Red Box”

  1. April @ Grits and Granola Bars says :

    That garden mannequin looks SO COOL! I would love one of those!

  2. Erica @ For the Sake of Cake says :

    I love Sweet Leaf tea! You’re right — probably not the best drink to make a habit of, but it’s still good on occasion! 🙂

  3. Tessa @ Amazing Asset says :

    I have been to Sweet Leaf before… it was great! But for a once in a while thing 🙂

  4. Tara says :

    AH I WANT THE FINGER PUPPETS!!! They are adorable! The stuffed acorn squash sounds amazing too. I might just make corn muffins so that I can have that!

  5. Tracy's Treats says :

    Sweet Leaf Tea is one of my favorite drinks! My favorite is the on you took a pic of! Yum, so nice and refreshing!

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Thankful Thursday: Feels like Home « Biking Before Bed - October 13, 2011

Leave a Reply

