Freestyle Tuna Salad

Today wasn’t bad… For a Monday:)

Maybe it was the interesting discussion about bananas I heard on the radio. Apparently there are over 1000 types of bananas! The US only has one:(

Maybe it was my killer arm workout. My arms felt like jelly by the end… But in a good way. Maybe it was the 3 minutes of Continuous bicep curls.

Or maybe it was Ryan’s dinner recipe. When he cooks at work for his co-workers on night shift, They call him the freestyler. He just throws things together…and it tastes delicious.

20111010-205410.jpg

It was so colorful!

And I loved that it incorporated so many veggies.

20111010-205345.jpg

20111010-213023.jpg

It was the perfect Monday meal.

Freestyle Tuna Salad
This is a flexible yet delicious salad. You could easily mix up the veggies or spices to use whatever you have on hand.

Serves: 4
Prep Time: 10 minutes
Cook Time: 5 minutes

Ingredients
1 head broccoli, chopped
1 handful cilantro, chopped
1 jalapeño, chopped, seeds removed if desired
1/2 red onion, chopped
1 can diced tomatoes, drained
1 cup corn
3 cans tuna, drained
1/3 cup light mayo
Salt and pepper to taste

Directions
Combine broccoli, cilantro, jalapeño, red onion, and tomatoes. Roast the corn in a skillet with salt and pepper. Add the corn to the other veggies. Flake the tuna with a fork and add it to the bowl. Stir in the mayo and season to taste. Dig in!

20111010-205415.jpg

I ate mine with a whole wheat pita.

20111010-205420.jpg

Question: Do you normally follow recipes, or “freestyle?”

15 responses to “Freestyle Tuna Salad”

  1. kaliesthoughts says :

    wowow looks amazing<3

  2. Sandi says :

    Freestyle..and what a colorful dish he made!
    I listened to an NPR story on bananas recently, how the U.S. only eats the Cavendish variety. It was interesting 😉

  3. Tracy's Treats says :

    I guess you could say I’m a free-styler. I like to experiment and throw random ingredients into my food and I actually have a hard to sticking 100% to a recipe!

  4. Oats n' Bows says :

    1000 different types of bananas?! Really?!? I need to do some research on that now…

    I’m sorta a free styler. I have a set recipe for my tuna salads though 🙂

  5. lapiattini says :

    I’ve heard that about bananas- weird, right?!
    With recipes it depends- most of the time I follow but if I know it really well I just kinda freestyle instead of measuring.

  6. Brittany says :

    Wow very impressive Ryan! I usually follow a recipe, but always end up adding a little more of this and that..or switching something for something else!

Leave a Reply

