Oatmeal Taste Test: Burger King

“I don’t have time.” This seems to be the single biggest reason people give as to why they don’t eat healthy food. Whether it be school, work or taking care of the kids, most people lead truly busy lives. The last thing someone wants to do when he/she wakes up is take the time to prepare a nutritious breakfast. So that leaves a few options, one of which is “hit the drive through.”

Fast food… the industry everyone loves to hate. Is it good to eat fast food every day? No. Will it kill you every once in a while? Of course not. Are some items “healthier” than others? You bet!

Recently, I noticed all of the ads for Burger King’s new breakfast menu. One of the menu items peaked my interest… Maple Oatmeal. While I don’t frequent fast food restaurants often, I was intrigued to try BK’s new creation. At least they are making a healthy breakfast option available right?

So I decided to do a little unofficial survey. Over the next few weeks I am going to try out different “healthy” fast food restaurant breakfasts and give me reviews. While I love making my own breakfasts, I realize that many people are pressed for time in the morning and may like to learn about some healthier options out there.

So for week one, I hit up Burger King.

20111014-222508.jpgI’m so glad they finally got rid of the king in their advertising campaigns. He was a major creeper. I already knew what I was going to order when I walked in… the oatmeal!

20111014-222436.jpgI was surprised that there were only two people working during the “morning” rush. It took almost 10 minutes to get my food. Not that “fast” in my book. I could have made pancakes in that amount of time. But on the bright side, the cashier was very friendly and apologetic.

Finally I got my food.

20111014-222448.jpgI was excited to see that they were Quaker Oats, since these are my go to oats at home.

20111014-222455.jpgThey looked creamy and delicious.

Before I give you my review I wanted to share the nutrition stats and ingredients.

Calories: 270

Total Fat:4 g

Saturated Fat: 1.5 g

Sodium: 290 mg

Dietary Fiber: 5 g

Sugar: 29 g

Protein: 5 g

Ingredients: whole grain rolled oats, sugar, natural flavor, salt, calcium carbonate, guar gum, oat flour,
caramel color, reduced iron, vitamin a palmitate.

Although the oatmeal is quite high in sugar, the other stats were actually fairly impressive. I normally like to start my day with a bit more protein. It would be easy to add some nuts of a spoonful of peanut butter to up the protein a bit.

20111014-222501.jpg

Overall Grade: B-

Taste: It was very creamy and sweet. Although it was a bit sweet for my taste, it did not taste artificial. It was also thicker than I expected, which was definitely a good thing! I hate watery oatmeal. I liked the dried fruit on top. I would have liked another topping, maybe nuts for crunch and protein.

Nutrition: A bit high in sugar, but solid amount of fiber. Also it was fairly low in calories for an entire meal.

Cost: $1.99

Other Factors: The biggest negative, the wait time! In the time it took me to get my food, I could have made a much better breakfast at home.

Stay tuned next week for another taste test:)

Question: Have you ever tried any “healthy” fast food breakfasts? If so, do you have a favorite?

11 responses to “Oatmeal Taste Test: Burger King”

  1. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance says :

    This is a great idea, Lindsay! Breakfast reviews will be a very useful thing for me– especially now that fast food joints are trying to incorporate “healthy” alternatives into their menus.

    I’m glad you enjoyed the oats 😀

  2. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate says :

    I can easily make oatmeal at home in 10 minutes or I can make it at work. It also won’t have nearly as much sugar! People aren’t too busy to eat healthy. They are just lazy.

  3. lindsay says :

    i wonder which is better, burger king or mc donalds? both HIGH in sugar. Sad! but at least its not fried,right?

  4. Oats n' Bows says :

    I had no idea that burger king had oatmeal! But honestly I havent eaten at burger king since I was at least 9 or 10. Good to know 🙂

  5. Tracy's Treats says :

    I had NO IDEA BK served oatmeal!

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Oatmeal Taste Test Round 2: Starbucks « Biking Before Bed - October 28, 2011

Leave a Reply

