WIAW: Chili and Pink Plastic Cups

We’re setting records here folks… This is the first night since May when I haven’t had to run my air conditioning. Yes, it is below 80 degrees in TX. I thought the day would never come. 74 degrees + no humidity. I’m in heaven! I hope the weather carries over to the weekend so I have time to enjoy it!

On another record-setting note… I am actually getting my WIAW post up early… as in before Wednesday! I wish I could say it was because I am getting more organized. But it’s actually because I finally realized that Jenn opens up the party Tuesday night not Wednesday morning. Yea… I’m not always the most observant.

So this post is dedicated to fall weather and celebrating Wednesday on Tuesday! Thanks again to our gracious host Jenn, the tofu loving par-tay leader! Her description of barbecue tofu is mouth-watering.

Peas and Crayons

Breakfast

20111018-105013.jpgApples in my oats are making another appearance! I first tried this combination at last WIAW. This week I used leftover steel-cut oats cooked in almond milk, Sunbutter, and leftover apples from my raw apple pie. This recipe is coming soon… pinky swear:)

Lunch

20111018-105035.jpgRyan and I have been eating lots of chili lately. Pumpkin chili, Iowa Girl Eats’ Sweet and Spicy Chili, and this “Throw Ingredients in a Pot” chili. This hodgepodge version was Ryan’s favorite. We sautéed an onion and some garlic and then browned a lb of lean ground beef. Then came a can of black beans, a can of crushed tomatoes, a cup of corn, chili powder, maple syrup, salt and pepper. Simmered for 15 minutes, and voila… chili! Cornbread on top took the meal up a notch. Chili without corn bread is like peanut butter without jelly in my book.

Dinner

20111018-105041.jpg

I am officially obsessed with Heather’s recipe for Stuffed Acorn Squash. I made it again! I love the fall flavors: apple, carrot, bacon, maple syrup, and squash. Pretty much hits ’em all.

20111018-105021.jpgAnd I finally jumped on the massaged kale salad bandwagon. Kale “massaged” with olive oil, lime juice, and salad. Simple and delicious.

Dessert

20111018-105047.jpgDespite the cooler weather, I was craving some good ol’ banana softserve. Blended with some chocolate chips.

Snacks

20111018-104939.jpgJuicy red grapes.

20111018-104946.jpgFage blueberry. I never liked blueberry yogurt growing up… but now its one of my favorites. It always amazes me how our taste buds change.

20111018-104954.jpgNew to me Lara Bar Flavor. Can’t beat Peanut Butter Cookie or Peanut Butter and Jelly. But still delicious none the less.

Drink

20111018-105002.jpgI sipped water all day from my new favorite cup. Although I have “real” glasses, Ryan and I always are drawn to the free plastic cups. I love the color of this one!

Question: Do you have a favorite cup, plate, or piece of silverware that you tend to use over and over?

22 responses to “WIAW: Chili and Pink Plastic Cups”

  1. Shannon @ Healthiful Balance says :

    I love banana soft serve! I’ve never tried adding chocolate chips but that sounds really good! 🙂

  2. mindrunningwild says :

    haha it’s so warm there!! London is 54 today and windy :/
    I love sun butter. It is seriously the light of my life. Exaggeration but it’s just plain good.
    and kale. I need to get some. Have you tried kale chips? I want to try them so badly!

  3. Ashley @ My Food 'N' Fitness Diaries says :

    Banana soft serve with chocolate chips sounds SO GOOD! I have this bowl that I got from Bed Bath & Beyond that I absolutely love. I always reach for it first when it’s clean (which is rare!).

  4. Tessa @ Amazing Asset says :

    Ooo yum banana soft serve with chocolate chips is a greattt idea! Thank you for this 🙂

  5. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance says :

    I have this cup (that I’m actually drinking out of now) that I LOVE. If it’s dirty in the dish washer, I will go out of my way to hand wash it just so I can use it. It’s love 🙂

  6. Lauren says :

    What exactly do you put in your banana soft serve? Do you add milk?
    I have many favorite utensils, plates, bowls, mugs, etc. LOTS of handwashing going on!
    And i have this weird thing about eating my oatmeal with a little spoon that I love. Is that weird? 🙂

    • bikingbeforebed says :

      All I put is the frozen banana. I’m sure it would be extra creamy if you added some milk too. I eat all my food with little spoons and forks. My dad always tells me that I am only supposed to use the little ones for dessert.

  7. healthninja says :

    red grapes *yum*! my favorite snack at the morning – I am inhaling them as soon as they enter my kitchen 😀

  8. vegansunshine says :

    I made pumpkin chili a few weeks ago, I love it! I put whole chunks of pumpkin in mine. 🙂 yummyummy. The rest is in the freezer to feed me all winter long! happy WIAW!!!

    Whitney

  9. brokencookiesdontcount says :

    Everything looks very tasty!

  10. Sara Grambusch says :

    I totally have a favorite bowl that I can easily put all my meals in, but I make myself use a plate sometimes to be more normal, lol.

  11. Vien @ We Dare Food says :

    I’ve never had chilli before! Gasp! I might try to make some one day!! And Lara Bars too!!! need to try some one day! 😀

Leave a Reply

