Raw Apple Pie

My current diet plan is the Seefood Diet… I see food and I eat it! I have the sense of humor of a 5-year-old sometimes:) It seems like more and more people are adopting healthier diets these days, Whether it be vegetarian, vegan, raw, or “I don’t eat meat on Monday,”

20111019-072803.jpg

While I respect everyone who chooses any of these diets, they are not for me. I was a vegetarian for 10 years, age 11-21. I decided to become a vegetarian in 6th grade, the day after Thanksgiving. I loved animals and didn’t like the idea of eating anything with fur. My mom thought it was a phase, but it ended up lasting for 10 years!

So why did I go back to eating meat? It just got to be too cumbersome for me. It was easy to prepare vegetarian meals in the comfort of my own home, but going out to a restaurant or eating at friend’s houses could be a chore. I always felt like I was explaining myself to people. I just kind of felt like a burden. I also felt that I was missing out sometimes, especially when I traveled abroad where being a vegetarian was practically unheard of. So when I was studying abroad in Greece during my junior year of college, I decided that I was going to gradually introduce meat back into my life. I started eating chicken and fish and gradually worked my way up to read meat.

20111019-072757.jpg

I could go on and on about my diet choices, but I’ll save that for another post. Lets get to the raw apple pie shall we? Ryan and I visited the first Whole Foods in Austin when we went on a mini trip a few months ago. Ryan is normally not a dessert guy so when he came to me with a sample of raw apple pie that I “had to make!” I knew it would be good. I won’t pretend to that I know too much about the raw food diet, so I browsed online to see how to make a “raw” pie. The general technique seemed the same. The crust was a mixture of dried fruit and nuts. The filling was a mixture of apples and some type of syrup mixture. Some recipes required extensive soaking of the fruits and nuts while others required a dehydrator. My version is the quick and dirty version. No long soaking times or dehydrator needed. You do need a food processor though.

Will I start eating a raw food diet now? Nope. Will I make this raw pie again? You better believe it!

Raw Apple Pie

Adapted from blisstree.com and onegreenplanet.org

This pie is super easy to pull together since you don’t have to worry about baking the crust. The salty nutty crust blends perfectly with the fruity filling.

Serves: 6

Prep Time: 10 minutes

Cook Time: None!

Ingredients:

Crust

1 cup walnuts

1/2 cup raisins

1/2 cup dates

1 tsp salt

Filling

6 apples, thinly sliced

3/4 cup dried cranberries

1 Tb ground cinnamon

1/2 cup dates

1/4 cup water

1 tsp vanilla

1 Tb lime juice

Directions:

Combine the crust ingredients in the food processor until they form a dough. Press into a pie pan and chill while you prepare the filling.

20111019-072739.jpgMix the apples, dried cranberries, and cinnamon in a bowl. Combine the dates, water, vanilla, and lime juice in the food processor until they form a syrup. Mix the syrup with the apples.

20111019-072746.jpgPour the apples into the crust and voila!

20111019-072752.jpg

The slices didn’t hold together too well, but the flavor was fantastic. My favorite part was the salty, nutty crust. If you wanted to cook the apples a bit first, or use a dehydrator, it would taste more similar to a traditional apple pie.

I ended up with lots of extra apples. I had no problem putting them to good use. Apple pie steel-cut oats.

20111019-072725.jpg

Apple pie overnight oats in an (almond butter) jar!

20111019-072732.jpgOnly one bag of apples left!

Question: Have you ever experimented with raw food before?

4 responses to “Raw Apple Pie”

  1. Paige @ Running Around Normal says :

    I could eat a raw crust on its own…they’re SO yummy! Then fill it with fruit and it’s over the top 🙂

  2. Julie H. of Spinach and Sprinkles says :

    Ummmm- YUM! The crust sounds awesome! I eat a lot of raw things but never claim myself to have any sort of ‘diet’ -It’s just the Julie diet, I eat what I feel is good and right for ME! 🙂

Leave a Reply

