Tailgate Chicken

I’m going to start this post with a somewhat controversial line.

I don’t like football.

I know, I know, I am un-American. It’s like saying I don’t like apple pie or Coke (which btw I don’t like either). And also, you are probably wondering why I am posting a recipe called tailgate chicken.

Well, just because I don’t like the sport of football, doesn’t mean I don’t like the food! When I saw the recipe for Tequila Lime Tailgate Chicken Sandwiches in a recent issue of Food Network magazine, my mouth started to water. I was almost finished assembling the meal. I went into the fridge to look for the tequila… and realized we had used it up at our Mexican themed supper club last month! Utter fail. But I plowed ahead… and it still tasted amazing. I mean how can you go wrong with a rainbow of veggies.

20111021-072132.jpg

Shredded chicken

20111021-072137.jpgAnd three kinds of cheese?

Even though I’m not a football fan, I still thought I’d break out the festive University of Delaware banner!

20111021-072116.jpgMy brother gave this to me for Christmas last year and I still haven’t put it in my office. (I will next week Walt… I promise!)

I urge you to make this chicken for any event. It can be eaten plain or as a sandwich. And since its cooked in foil, there is no mess to clean up!  Maybe I will make it for a soccer game, my favorite sport! Speaking of soccer, my brother and I need to start planning our trip to Brazil for the 2014 World Cup!

20111021-072121.jpg

Tailgate Chicken

adapted from Guy Fieri

This versatile chicken dish can be made in the oven or on the grill. It’s a one stop shop: chicken, veggies, and gooey cheese. Sure to be a crowd pleaser for a tailgate crowd or for a simple weeknight supper.

Serves: 6

Prep Time: 10 minutes

Cook Time: 30 minutes (oven) or 20 minutes (grill)

Ingredients

1 red onion, sliced in strips

1/2 cup roasted red pepper, sliced in strips

1 jalapeno, minced (remove the seeds for less heat)

1 14 oz can diced tomatoes, drained

1 rotisserie chicken, skin removed and shredded

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp pepper

1 tsp garlic powder

1/4 cup grated parmesan

4 oz cream cheese (I used 2 oz low-fat chive cream cheese and two Laughing Cow Fresco Chipotle Wedges)

1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese

1/4 cup lime juice

Directions

If using the oven, preheat to 350 F.

Lay 2 large sheets of tin foil on the counter and spray with cooking spray. For the amounts listed, I made two foil packets.

Layer your ingredients in the following order:

Onion, red pepper, jalapeno

20111021-072143.jpgTomatoes

20111021-072150.jpgChicken, salt, pepper, garlic powder

20111021-072156.jpgParmesan, cream cheese, mozzarella, and lime juice.

20111021-072205.jpg

Lay another large piece of foil on top of each pile of ingredients. Roll up the ends and the sides of the foil tightly.

20111021-072210.jpg

If using the oven, place the two packets on top of a cookie sheet and bake for 15 minutes. Flip the packets and bake for another 15 minutes. If using the grill,  use the same method, but cook for 10 minutes on each side.

Dig in with a fork, or grab your favorite sandwich bread!

20111021-072127.jpgGo Fighting Blue Hens in your game against Rhode Island tomorrow. (I so just looked that up… I’m a terrible alumni).

Now its off to Pinkberry (It just opened!!) and Footloose!

Question: What is your favorite tailgate food?

4 responses to “Tailgate Chicken”

  1. Chels says :

    I am not a huge football fan either. My fiance loves it, so I always drag alone and just end up enjoying drinks, food and talking with all the girls. Fav tailgate food…I love chex mix of any kind, it is like crack!

  2. LightOnMyFeet says :

    Mmm this looks good! Especially if it’s Guy’s recipe. He’s one of my chef idols! And football is just an excuse to eat yummy appetizers like nachos and chicken wings 🙂

Leave a Reply

