Hanging with Miss Green M&M

I have been looking forward to the weekend all week.

No I am not going on a trip.

Or running a marathon.

Or going to a great new bar.

I am excited because I have no plans at all! Unless you count being on pager duty for work. Yes, by company still uses pagers. I feel so cool. As I have probably mentioned before, I work at a refinery in the environmental section. Everyone gets assigned 6 or 7 weeks each year where we are “on call.” We get to rock the sweet pager and answer any environmental emergency questions that may come up. Getting woken up at 3 am to talk about potential chemical releases is such a blast… not. But this week (knock on wood), I haven’t gotten any pages yet!

Ryan is in Vegas with some of his friends for a big car show. I miss him like crazy, but part of me is excited for some me time! No crazy plane trips and snow storms this weekend.

I got home from work and immediately put on my PJ pants… when it was still light out!

So what am I going to do with my free weekend? I was super excited to pick up the new Jennifer Weiner book I had put on hold at the library. Until I went to pick it up, and realized I had reserved the wrong one! It was one I had already read. Ultimate fail. So I decided to go to “Lindsay’s library” aka my bookshelves full of things I have never read. I came across this one. By the same author as Prep, one of my favorite books!

20111104-093207.jpgIf I can finish this by November 15, I can participate in book club over at Julie’s blog.

20111104-093215.jpgThis showed up in the mail today. My brother and I absolutely love the Muppets so I can’t wait to read this article. And the new character in the next movie is named Walter… which is my lil brother’s name!

20111104-093223.jpgHope to read a bit of this as well. I am going to be a food trivia master by the time I finish! A random fact for you: Christopher Columbus’s mother in law worked at a sugar plantation. He can be credited for bringing sugar on America!

With all my reading material, I will need some fuel.

20111104-093306.jpgI love the post holiday candy sales. It was hard to find plain candy corn! I had to go to three different stores! The package on the right is pumpkin pie flavored… it is a bit less sweet and has great spice. Its at Target if you feel the need to pick some up! They also had blood orange and caramel.

I also can’t wait to do some baking. I have a bunch of recipes I want to try out. I stocked up on some essentials.

20111104-093230.jpgMy favorite baking PB. In the biggest jar I could find. This is going to be awesome for a jumbo oats in a jar!

20111104-093237.jpgFinally found the big can of pumpkin!

20111104-093300.jpg

I love that Nestle Semi-Sweet morsels are now artificial flavor free.

And to keep me company: Miss Green M&M

20111104-093312.jpg

Looking sassy for fall in her cowboy boots.

20111104-093318.jpg

And all bundled up for winter. I am super excited for this new cinnamon flavor. I have some fun baking ideas I want to try with these!

Speaking of baking, I just signed up for the Great Cookie Swap. It’s a blogger cookie swap. I can’t wait to participate… I encourage all of you to check it out. Who wouldn’t want 3 dozen holiday cookies?

Time to get caught up on my DVR’ed episodes of Cupcake Wars and DC cupcakes.

Question: What is your favorite flavor of M&M? I love almond M&Ms but they are sometimes hard to find. Peanut butter is my second favorite. I am also still loving the candy corn ones🙂

18 responses to “Hanging with Miss Green M&M”

  1. Shannon (Healthiful Balance) says :

    Agree…candy corn is great fuel! 😀
    I’ve never really thought about what color M&M I like best..I guess I like them all! 🙂

  2. Tracy's Treats says :

    Oohh enjoy your free weekend! Those are hard to come by so you gotta soak them up!

  3. Sweet and Savvy says :

    Cinnamon M&M’s??? I had noooo idea those existed@

  4. Tara says :

    I love having no plans!! It feels so nice to just do whatever the heck I want. Especially when fueled by candy corn and m&ms. I used to love the crispy kind, I’m so sad they don’t make them anymore! Now my favorite is peanut butter or pretzel.

  5. Tessa @ Amazing Asset says :

    Candy corn is the ultimate fuel if you ask me 🙂
    Having no plans is rather glorious, it feels so so good when you have been quite busy! And peanut butter are definitely my favorite…although I have never tried the almond ones and I a pretty sure those would be awesome

  6. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate says :

    Weekends without plans are actually my favorite weekends!

  7. Erica @ For the Sake of Cake says :

    I love peanut butter M&Ms! I can seriously put those away!

  8. Alexis says :

    I totally bought the pumpkin pie taffy from target too!

  9. Diana @ VeggieNextDoor says :

    Prep is one of my favorite books too! I read American Wife and it is fantastic too, though Prep is still my fav by Curtis Sittenfield.

    Since you have so much Candy Corn & PB you should try making homemade Butterfingers – all it takes is those two ingredients, plus choc chips to coat them. I made them last weekend and they really do taste like the real thing, except somehow I messed mine up and they were way too hard to bite into. http://www.loveveggiesandyoga.com/2011/10/butterfinger-bars.html

Leave a comment