Archive | October 26, 2011

Halloween Pumpkins

Is there ever too much of a good thing? When it comes to food, I tend to think not. Well maybe sometimes, but I love to repeat favorite meals over and over again.

Exhibit A

20111026-112335.jpgSame breakfast as yesterday. Well similar. I used oatmeal instead of buckwheat. I can’t remember the last time I cooked oatmeal on the stove… I am NEVER going back to the microwave. It was so much thicker and creamier this way. Topped with pumpkin butter, peanut butter, and the last of the frozen blueberries.

Exhibit B

20111026-112352.jpg
Same lunch as yesterday. 3 days in a row… yea it was that tasty. But I am out of hummus now… so I guess my good friend turkey loaf salad and I will have to part ways.

But I am not all boring… I did try a new recipe! Pumpkin granola bars.

20111026-112345.jpgI followed Chelsea’s recipe except since I didn’t have any agave, I used molasses per Julie’s suggestion. I love recipe collaboration! It was nice and chewy, just the way a granola bar should be. I was never a big fan of crunchy granola bars. And everything tastes more festive on a spiderweb plate right?

Tonight Ryan and I are going to carve our pumpkin! In honor of this occasion, I thought I’d share some of my previous “masterpieces.”

The boy looking in the mirror one is mine:)

The one on the left that says Wicked (in honor of one of my favorite musical soundtracks) is mine. I still need to see the play!!

I was really creative this year and got a pattern online instead of using one from the buck 50 pattern book from CVS. I don’t know why I chose a tiger, but I think he turned out pretty well.

Argh matey… This was not one of my best. I was rushing which never turns out well.

My brother made this cat jack-o-lantern on a white pumpkin. I love it! I should have tried to pass it off as mine:)

Speaking of my brother Walter, I wanted to share another Halloween costume.

Walter (left) and his friend Zach went out as Waldo and Odlaw in 2007. My grandpa used to call my brother Waldo, so the costume was quite fitting. Walter and I were obsessed with the Where’s Waldo books when we were younger. We own every one and would have races to see who could find all of the characters first. Does anyone else remember Odlaw? He was Waldo’s “evil twin.” And his name is Waldo spelled backwards:)

Can’t wait to share this year’s pumpkin masterpiece.

Question: Did you read the Where’s Waldo? books growing up?